Important information: this site is currently scheduled to go offline indefinitely by end of the year.

Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
Post Reply
Privateer
veteran
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 1:33 pm
Location: On my Network, unless I'm somewhere else
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post by Privateer »

Hairless Wookiee wrote:Speaking of the Imp Destroyer, I noticed that processing the Voidstar variant of the model (veh_imp_capital_destroyer_voidstar) with Privateer's app results in the following message for all textures in the MTL files:

No Materials, Invisible part, or texture Name located in Extended Data Block.
Extended Data Block access Code in progress.

It looks to be just the base destroyer meshes with an additional set of bridge meshes to make it look unique, but presumably they did something different with the structure of that particular file. Judging by the message, this will need to wait for an update of the app.
This app was coded for other Games GR2 files.
The textures are called differently with the GR2 files here.
I'll adjust that along with another correction on the Name numbering.
I was extracting from a GR2 that had 4 meshes all named the same.
So I threw in the quick numbering.
I'll code it to check for duplicate names and add the number only if it's true.

I should add drag and drop someday also.

The LOD model is messed up in the GR2 file so the exports are correct.
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day.
Try to teach a man to fish and he'll gripe at you for not just giving him the Damn Fish!
Nintendude
advanced
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 4:25 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post by Nintendude »

So does anyone have a link for all the extracted .gr2 models now that we have a converter to use for converting them from .gr2 to .obj?
CZW
veteran
Posts: 151
Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 3:15 pm
Has thanked: 117 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post by CZW »

Nintendude wrote:So does anyone have a link for all the extracted .gr2 models now
NO .. and only 47% of files are decoded
Nintendude wrote: a converter to use for converting them from .gr2 to .obj?
please read all posts before ... all is done and link post
mazor
advanced
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 9:22 pm
Has thanked: 157 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post by mazor »

CZW wrote:NO .. and only 47% of files are decoded
Is it possible to decode the other files?
User avatar
Hairless Wookiee
beginner
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 12:05 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post by Hairless Wookiee »

Eventually no doubt. Might need to wait until the game goes live though possibly, if capturing packets from the server is required.
Scalion
ultra-n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 4:41 pm

Re: Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post by Scalion »

I have now access to the file because of the beta test week (11 november 2011)

It like i cannot "see" any .tor file, all i see is.. well :
Image

C:\Games\Star Wars-The Old Republic\Assets\green_main_1.tor
Privateer
veteran
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 1:33 pm
Location: On my Network, unless I'm somewhere else
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post by Privateer »

Many of the files with the .txt extension are WWise soundbanks.
The correct extension should be .bnk
The header is easy to recognize in a hex editor.

42 4B 48 44 10 00 00 00 38 00 00 00 35 A2 3C 69
0C 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 44 49 44 58


There's also alot of files with the .txt extension that are GR2 files.
I found 562 in the assets_main_22\txt folder alone.
(I have an alpha program that scans all files in a folder and subfolders and tells you if they are GR2 files)
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day.
Try to teach a man to fish and he'll gripe at you for not just giving him the Damn Fish!
User avatar
Hairless Wookiee
beginner
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 12:05 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post by Hairless Wookiee »

Yeah generating a hash list in EasyMYP only gets names for about a third of the files. It does seem like it correctly identifies file type for DDS files that it it has no filename for at least, but everything else pretty much gets generically assigned as a text file.
Privateer
veteran
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 1:33 pm
Location: On my Network, unless I'm somewhere else
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post by Privateer »

The Quick GR2 Finder program was coded for a different Game that uses files with no extensions and a number identifier as a name.
It will soon be coded to rename files like that on the fly.
(Hopefully this weekend)

The Exporter is drag and drop now and exports a proper mtl file.
I only need to clean up the code a bit to remove things that are not needed for SWTOR.

I've used Ravioli Game Tools to extract some wav files from the SoundBanks.
I just need to find a tool (or write one) that will convert them as they do not play at this time.
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day.
Try to teach a man to fish and he'll gripe at you for not just giving him the Damn Fish!
Privateer
veteran
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 1:33 pm
Location: On my Network, unless I'm somewhere else
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post by Privateer »

I'd look at the source for EasyMYP but it's done in C#
Such a waste of resources and slow motion.
I only code in C or sometimes C++
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day.
Try to teach a man to fish and he'll gripe at you for not just giving him the Damn Fish!
Privateer
veteran
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 1:33 pm
Location: On my Network, unless I'm somewhere else
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post by Privateer »

I've got the Exporter nearly finished now.
It does the Drag and Drop and also allows browseing or typeing in the path with auto-complete,
Checks for duplicate mesh names and only renames if found true,
writes proper MTL files.
I've also removed non-needed code for SWTOR reducing the .exe size.

I'm thinking of adding the ability to copy the texture files to the exported folder or setting the path in the MTL so no copy or move is needed.
What would you prefer in this case?
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day.
Try to teach a man to fish and he'll gripe at you for not just giving him the Damn Fish!
Acewell
VIP member
VIP member
Posts: 1330
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 12:16 pm
Has thanked: 2710 times
Been thanked: 884 times

Re: Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post by Acewell »

Privateer wrote:I'm thinking of adding the ability to copy the texture files to the exported folder or setting the path in the MTL so no copy or move is needed.
What would you prefer in this case?
While copying the textures to the exported folder would be more convenient, i think this would be a waste of harddrive space since you would have the same textures in different locations. I'd just go with including the path in the *.mtl file to avoid duplicate files.

Your work here is appreciated very much, thank you.
Privateer
veteran
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 1:33 pm
Location: On my Network, unless I'm somewhere else
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post by Privateer »

I'll check what I can do to adjust the file path in the mtl.
I also hate duplicate files burning HD space.
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day.
Try to teach a man to fish and he'll gripe at you for not just giving him the Damn Fish!
Privateer
veteran
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 1:33 pm
Location: On my Network, unless I'm somewhere else
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post by Privateer »

I've started an options ability that will allow you to set a few functions.
It will allow you to put the exported files where you wish.
It will allow copying or moveing texture files to the exported files folder if you wish.
I'm adding this feature because I usually save to an external drive or a networked drive to save local HD space.
Defaults are save in currently created folder with mtl adjustment pointed to the original tex folder.
It's saved as an .ini file as I hate messing with the register settings.

Once I get this done (and fix a few things I broke messing around) I'll post a link to it.
After that I will implement a mass export so you can drag/drop a folder on it and export all GR2's in one shot.

After that I'll implement:
Find and rename GR2's that are not yet identified by the EasyMYP program and extract them also.
That may be a plug-in DLL as the main program was written in MS Visual C++ and the program that finds GR2 files was written in CodeBlocks C.
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day.
Try to teach a man to fish and he'll gripe at you for not just giving him the Damn Fish!
User avatar
Hairless Wookiee
beginner
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 12:05 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Star Wars - The Old Republic - Beta - GR2 model

Post by Hairless Wookiee »

Sounds good. I look forward to trying it out. It would be especially good if you get that unnamed GR2 finder working.

I don't think moving/copying textures is necessary. I guess it would be handy feature to have some time in the future, but for now I'm sure people would rather see a release sooner with the aforementioned basic functionality tweaks/changes.
Post Reply