Important information: this site is currently scheduled to go offline indefinitely by end of the year.

Changing Noesis' file associations

The Original Forum. Game archives, full of resources. How to open them? Get help here.
Post Reply
ShadyTheFirst
ultra-n00b
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 8:35 pm
Been thanked: 5 times

Changing Noesis' file associations

Post by ShadyTheFirst »

I've been trying to learn Noesis python scripting for a couple days now, and I think I've managed to write a decent, partially working script. However, I can't test it because upon loading it, Noesis thinks it's a Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm 2 file, which it's not. Here's an image showing what I mean:

Image

I'd like to know if there's a way to force Noesis to attempt to load a model using the specified script, as opposed to choosing the one it's been told to load for this kind of file, Thanks.
Acewell
VIP member
VIP member
Posts: 1330
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 12:16 pm
Has thanked: 2710 times
Been thanked: 884 times

Re: Changing Noesis' file associations

Post by Acewell »

you can temporarily move the conflicting script out of the python folder or give your new script a unique type check. :)
ShadyTheFirst
ultra-n00b
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 8:35 pm
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Changing Noesis' file associations

Post by ShadyTheFirst »

I would do that, but I've searched all through the files and can't find this script that's causing it. I never installed such a script, so maybe it was built into Noesis?
chrrox
Moderator
Posts: 2602
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 3:01 pm
Has thanked: 57 times
Been thanked: 1422 times

Re: Changing Noesis' file associations

Post by chrrox »

just re download noesis and move your script to the new folder.
Acewell
VIP member
VIP member
Posts: 1330
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 12:16 pm
Has thanked: 2710 times
Been thanked: 884 times

Re: Changing Noesis' file associations

Post by Acewell »

ShadyTheFirst wrote:I never installed such a script, so maybe it was built into Noesis?
it seems so, it is mentioned in native noesis.dll :]
ShadyTheFirst
ultra-n00b
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 8:35 pm
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Changing Noesis' file associations

Post by ShadyTheFirst »

AceWell wrote:it seems so, it is mentioned in native noesis.dll :]
If that's the case, is there a way to remove it or disable it?
Acewell
VIP member
VIP member
Posts: 1330
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 12:16 pm
Has thanked: 2710 times
Been thanked: 884 times

Re: Changing Noesis' file associations

Post by Acewell »

in theory you can hex edit out anything you want, just need to know what you're looking at, otherwise you
need to add a unique type check to your script or even change the extension of your samples temporarily.
thats all i got man, good luck! :]
chrrox
Moderator
Posts: 2602
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 3:01 pm
Has thanked: 57 times
Been thanked: 1422 times

Re: Changing Noesis' file associations

Post by chrrox »

there is a python function to overwrite built in plugins. noesis.disableFormatByDescription("Hokuto Musou Model") as an example
also just rename the extension to something else and test your plugin with that.
Post Reply