Important information: this site is currently scheduled to go offline indefinitely by end of the year.

Noesis script for Guild Wars 2 broken in current Noesis buil

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
Post Reply
User avatar
lionheartuk
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 749
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Everywhere
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 42 times

Noesis script for Guild Wars 2 broken in current Noesis buil

Post by lionheartuk »

Hey Guys.

So I've got the newest Noesis, I've got the Guild Wars 2 .dat extracted, I've got all the folders with .pf files in them.

However whenever I try to open one of them I get the following errors:


http://puu.sh/gjBVx/7015e80743.png

http://puu.sh/gjBTx/bc05985a6a.png

I'm guessing the way data is handled has changed a little bit.

Could anyone confirm that this works in any build from 2012 at all? And if so, perhaps be able to share a Noesis build from back then, Rich's website doesn't keep older versions it seems.

The script is from here: https://code.google.com/p/noesis-plugin ... c=svn3&r=3

The files are in the correct place, script written by DemonsAngel.
Demonsangel
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 241
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 9:31 pm
Location: Antwerp
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 41 times

Re: Noesis script for Guild Wars 2 broken in current Noesis

Post by Demonsangel »

They most likely changed the model format after beta.
User avatar
lionheartuk
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 749
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Everywhere
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 42 times

Re: Noesis script for Guild Wars 2 broken in current Noesis

Post by lionheartuk »

This was the suggestion from Mr Adults (which reminds me I need to share a file or 2 with him).
it was probably written in a buffer-overrunning way and stopped working when I safe-guarded the index/vertex/etc. buffer inputs from Python, if I had to take a random guess.
MrAdults
Moderator
Posts: 1007
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:57 am
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 505 times

Re: Noesis script for Guild Wars 2 broken in current Noesis

Post by MrAdults »

That was just a blind guess, without having seen the script, the error, or the data. If they changed the actual data as demonsangel suggests, that's your problem.
User avatar
lionheartuk
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 749
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Everywhere
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 42 times

Re: Noesis script for Guild Wars 2 broken in current Noesis

Post by lionheartuk »

MrAdults wrote:That was just a blind guess, without having seen the script, the error, or the data. If they changed the actual data as demonsangel suggests, that's your problem.
Yeah its a guess, but hopefully its correct, I've PM'd you the code and some files to take a look at as you mentioned.

If its changed theren theres not much I can do about that I suppose.
User avatar
zaramot
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 783
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:41 pm
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 855 times

Re: Noesis script for Guild Wars 2 broken in current Noesis

Post by zaramot »

Long time ago I wrote script for Guild Wars 2, I looked at Noesis script when I tried this format. Noesis script is half-done as far as I remember, there's a lot things left to cover in order to make it work. Mr.Adults will need to make it from scratch I guess, if he will not finish this game I'll try to find where's mine lol and will post it here if I'll find it
Making model-import scripts, PM
MrAdults
Moderator
Posts: 1007
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:57 am
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 505 times

Re: Noesis script for Guild Wars 2 broken in current Noesis

Post by MrAdults »

Uhh, I didn't write the Noesis script. And I'm not doing anything from scratch, I've no interest in supporting this game. You're at Demonsangel's mercy.
User avatar
shakotay2
MEGAVETERAN
MEGAVETERAN
Posts: 4285
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:24 am
Location: Nexus, searching for Jim Kirk
Has thanked: 1147 times
Been thanked: 2242 times

Re: Noesis script for Guild Wars 2 broken in current Noesis

Post by shakotay2 »

lionheartuk wrote:The script is from here: https://code.google.com/p/noesis-plugin ... c=svn3&r=3

The files are in the correct place, script written by DemonsAngel.
with this change some pf can be loaded:

Code: Select all

            if Format.uv16Mask != -1:
                rapi.rpgBindUV1BufferOfs(vertexBuffer, noesis.RPGEODATA_HALFFLOAT, Format.vertexSize, Format.uv16Mask)
                #if Format.uv16Count >=3: rapi.rpgBindUV2BufferOfs(vertexBuffer, noesis.RPGEODATA_HALFFLOAT, Format.vertexSize, Format.uv16Mask+8)
            print("matName: %s, vSize: %d, group: %d" %(material.name, Format.vertexSize, Format.group))
            if Format.group != -1:
                rapi.rpgBindBoneIndexBufferOfs(vertexBuffer, noesis.RPGEODATA_UBYTE, Format.vertexSize ,Format.group, 4)
            if Format.weights != -1:				
                rapi.rpgBindBoneWeightBufferOfs(vertexBuffer, noesis.RPGEODATA_UBYTE, Format.vertexSize, Format.weights, 4)
 
GW2-pf.JPG
(doesn't work for skeleton and animation pf)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Tuts: a) Bigchillghost, viewtopic.php?f=29&t=17889
b) Extracting simple models: http://forum.xentax.com/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=10894
"Quoting the whole thing. Would u ever stop this nonsense?"
Demonsangel
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 241
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 9:31 pm
Location: Antwerp
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 41 times

Re: Noesis script for Guild Wars 2 broken in current Noesis

Post by Demonsangel »

I haven't touched a model format in over a year and I don't think I still have the files for the format.

Edit: it looks like I was rewriting the script somewhere in 2013 but ragequit because the animation was some kind of stupid granny format.
LogicalEvil
ultra-n00b
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2014 6:37 am
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Noesis script for Guild Wars 2 broken in current Noesis

Post by LogicalEvil »

Sorry to make a useless bump, but I was wondering if there was still any interest in the subject. GW2 has some awesome models, it would be a shame if interest in them were to die.
User avatar
shakotay2
MEGAVETERAN
MEGAVETERAN
Posts: 4285
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:24 am
Location: Nexus, searching for Jim Kirk
Has thanked: 1147 times
Been thanked: 2242 times

Re: Noesis script for Guild Wars 2 broken in current Noesis

Post by shakotay2 »

from time to time I've a look at skeletons in different threads.

Here it's 00009978.pf skeleton file with this mesh contained:
GW2-09978-skel.JPG
(Remember: it's a skeleton file, so the mesh is not too nice. :D )

Once I got the skeleton displayed (if so) maybe I'll find another patch for the above mentioned Noesis python script (v 0.0.7 as of 24.11.12 by Demonsangel)
to make it work with this small pf. (But it's of very low priority for me.)

Had some troubles getting the zero-terminated bonenames 'til I realized they are expanded for DWORD alignment:
if ((cnt%4)!=0) { cnt /= 4 ; cnt++ ; cnt *= 4 ; }

edit: I checked for the skeleton (hierarchy built manually, may be errorness), have some odds with rotations.

Clavicles and Shoulders share the same position, same with Hips and Knees (don't understand it).

The py scripts points to a bonemap that reads like this:
6 14 11 12 9 10 2 4 19 20 25 22 32 28 31 27 24 23 21

I've added actionpoint:LeftHand/Righthand but the resulting skeleton doesn't "convince" me.

It could be helpful if someone sent me an old pf (skeleton) file which is loaded correctly by Demonsangle's script.
Otherwise I don't think that I'll waste more time on this.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Tuts: a) Bigchillghost, viewtopic.php?f=29&t=17889
b) Extracting simple models: http://forum.xentax.com/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=10894
"Quoting the whole thing. Would u ever stop this nonsense?"
Post Reply