Important information: this site is currently scheduled to go offline indefinitely by end of the year.

[Help] Extracting dialogue script and audio from Persona 4

Read or post about compression. And decompression. Or ask questions how to decompress your files.
Kaoru
ultra-n00b

[Help] Extracting dialogue script and audio from Persona 4

Post by Kaoru »

So, I've been messing with the ISO for Persona 4 the last few days, trying to extract all the data I need. After hours of Googling, searching this forum and coding in Python, I've made very little progress, so I'm hoping someone here with more experience will be able to help me since this is my first attempt at ripping game assets.

What I want to do is extract all the dialogue scripts from both the Japanese and English versions of the game, as well as audio clips that match the script from the Japanese version. The end goal is to generate an Anki deck for studying Japanese using these game assets.

Here's what I managed on my own so far:
- Extract the .cvm files, most notably DATA.cvm which contains most of the important stuff
- Found what seem like script files in DATA.cvm/EVENTS. They have file extensions .pm1, .pm2 and .pm3
- Found seemingly appropriate sound files by extracting .adx files from DATA.cvm/SOUNDS/COMMU.afs using ADX Encode Helper, and then converting them to .mp3