Important information: this site is currently scheduled to go offline indefinitely by end of the year.

[PS3] Bluepoint Games (MGS2_3HD+ICO_SOTC(.cmdl)) [Maxscript]

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
JayK
mega-veteran
mega-veteran

[PS3] Bluepoint Games (MGS2_3HD+ICO_SOTC(.cmdl)) [Maxscript]

Post by JayK »

I've attached a Maxscript which can be used to import the .cmdl extension that both MGS3 and MGS2 on the HD Collection use. It imports the models with some flipped faces so you'll have to select all the polygons and unify them. It has support for UV's however the models aren't split into separate objects therefore you'll have to apply the textures by selecting polygons. Bones aren't supported as I have no experience in that area however the file structure is rather simple therefore anyone that does would be able to figure it out fairly simply.

you can access the cmdl files by extracting the psarc files on the disc, there are a few tools that can do this. Textures are contained in ctxr files, I've also included a tool I made to convert ctxr files to gtf files, you can then use gtf2dds, a tool which is part of the sony sdk, to convert them to dds, thanks to thisistheend/ratengera for divulging information about the ctxr in this topic.

I haven't tested it on all files so let me know if there's a problem with the Maxscript or ctxr2gtf.

EDIT: This also works for other games ported by Bluepoint, such as Ico and Shadow of the Colossus

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by JayK on Fri Feb 05, 2021 11:54 pm, edited 3 times in total.
ratanegra
n00b

Re: [PS3] Metal Gear Solid 3+2 HD Collection (.cmdl) [Maxscr

Post by ratanegra »

Thanks JayK.
Ares722
veteran

Post by Ares722 »

great work! ty so much!
philip92dk
advanced

Post by philip92dk »

where can you find the map files?
halflifedave
ultra-n00b

Post by halflifedave »

Sorry for the bump, but tried this script out recently.