Important information: this site is currently scheduled to go offline indefinitely by end of the year.

Spotlight: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

General game file tools that are useful for more than one game
MofoMan2000
ultra-n00b
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2014 7:21 am
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by MofoMan2000 »

MrAdults wrote:I recall SMD having sequence SMD's and geometry SMD's separated by spec back when I wrote the parser, which I thought was weird. I don't know if there are newer/different standards now that dictate the two can be combined in a single SMD, but if you just want to take a geometry SMD and apply animations to it when exporting to a separate format (like FBX or whatever), Noesis allows you to do that. You can drag and drop the sequence SMD over the open model preview window to apply it in-memory and then use "export from preview", or you can use -loadanim when exporting the geometry SMD to specify sequence SMD to be used for animations. Both of those approaches work for any geometry + any animation format.
I did try to drag the animation SMD over to the preview pane while the geometry was loaded (these SMDs are from the same model, so the animation should align perfectly with the geometry) but as soon as my cursor moved over the preview pane it simply started rotating the model. It never gave any indication that it was drag-dropping the animation. I'll try the command line option, though, and let you know. :)

EDIT: Yeah -loadanim worked. That's great, thanks!
MrAdults
Moderator
Posts: 1007
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:57 am
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 505 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by MrAdults »

I meant, drag and drop from an external Explorer window. I should probably make a context action for the filelist that does it too.
MofoMan2000
ultra-n00b
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2014 7:21 am
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by MofoMan2000 »

Oh, I should have thought of that. Yeah, I didn't even have the folder open in explorer because the program had a file list already.

I'm having another issue with SMD importing though, for some reason it seems the V texture axes are upside down, I have to flip the texture vertically for it to load properly. I don't know if there's some setting I've missed or what's going on, it renders properly in MilkShape.
MrAdults
Moderator
Posts: 1007
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:57 am
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 505 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by MrAdults »

That's implementation-specific, so just flip as needed based on what the target wants. Noesis has an option to flip UV's in the data viewer as well if you want to view flipped coordinates without touching them on export.
MrAdults
Moderator
Posts: 1007
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:57 am
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 505 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by MrAdults »

Thanks to the 2 people who donated yesterday. We're now at a total of 5. :)

I didn't want to add the drag and drop functionality to the standard context menu because the behavior would probably just confuse most people. So I wrote an add-on script for it instead. If you want it, you can use this:

http://code.google.com/p/noesis-plugins ... preview.py
Acewell
VIP member
VIP member
Posts: 1330
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 12:16 pm
Has thanked: 2710 times
Been thanked: 884 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by Acewell »

MofoMan2000 wrote:..for some reason it seems the V texture axes are upside down
This happens with obj import/export too. On import you have to use the Global UV flip in Data Tools to view them correctly. It would be cool if there was a way to eliminate the flipping on import/export though.
Last edited by Acewell on Mon Feb 08, 2016 4:43 am, edited 2 times in total.
chrrox
Moderator
Posts: 2602
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 3:01 pm
Has thanked: 57 times
Been thanked: 1422 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by chrrox »

AceWell wrote:
MofoMan2000 wrote:..for some reason it seems the V texture axes are upside down
This happens with obj import/export too. On import you have to use the Global UV flip in Data Tools to view them correctly. It would be cool if there was a way to eliminate the flipping on import/export though.
It all depends on the source program.
Some programs export formats with -v in uv space.
Most programs support flipping uv's on export just set that if you want to view it in noesis.
finale00
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 2382
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 1:22 am
Has thanked: 170 times
Been thanked: 307 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by finale00 »

What do you use to maintain the automatic updates? (both client and server side)
I've been looking into software updates and this came to mind.
MrAdults
Moderator
Posts: 1007
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:57 am
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 505 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by MrAdults »

It's all just stuff I wrote, not based on anything. The auto-update package is a simple executable that handles the actual file installation and defines a custom PE section for the data, then I have a tool that automatically produces archives for distribution as well as produces the auto-updater for that build by injecting the data into the custom PE section, then it uploads everything to appropriate mirrors, updates the Xentax Noesis download page, and updates the build information that lives on richwhitehouse.com. (which is what Noesis checks to see if there are any new builds available) The server side of the auto update stuff on richwhitehouse.com is just some simple php code that uses a mysql database to keep track of build information. It also handles all the crash report collection. The whole process is automated and requires nothing from me other than updating the readme to reflect the new version (which is what it parses to get the version number) and running a .bat file.
finale00
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 2382
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 1:22 am
Has thanked: 170 times
Been thanked: 307 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by finale00 »

So when I download the patch, what actually gets downloaded?
and defines a custom PE section for the data
I was thinking I'd just be getting a completely new build, but custom PE section seems like something else is going on.
MrAdults
Moderator
Posts: 1007
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:57 am
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 505 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by MrAdults »

The PE section in the updater just contains a reference to the compressed data for the build. I use the custom section so that I can parse through the PE sections to find it by name when I'm generating the final update package from my other tool. It's just an elegant solution to the "where do I find the data?" problem for the updater, there are more naive ways you could do it if you wanted.
finale00
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 2382
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 1:22 am
Has thanked: 170 times
Been thanked: 307 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by finale00 »

Like a version check so you know what the client needs or doesn't need so you can avoid sending too much or too little.
jaden
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 209
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 1:41 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by jaden »

Hello senor casaroja
I'm stunned by your sharing idealism, since i've seen many people who don't share their own model ripping software
Noesis is by far the most amazing game extractor software,Cheeers

I want to ask if you if have time can you please create a model importer for Final fantasy 8 PC?
It will be great to be able to 3d mod FF8
I'll send you $500 to your paypal account if you decided to create such tool

Thanks a lot senor

Best Regards
Jaden
Darkfox
VVIP member
VVIP member
Posts: 688
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2003 6:11 pm
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by Darkfox »

Hey, chiming in to say that something happened to the animation support regarding Ninja. Noticed this while trying to load some models in Maken X, in particular Kay Sagami (HEROIN). No animations load even if I drag and drop it. I know it was working perfectly before. I've tried loading the model and animation separately which used to work for some models (particularly those composed of two models) but that does not work here either.

When you get the time could you take a look? If needed I could provide quick access to the files.
MrAdults
Moderator
Posts: 1007
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:57 am
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 505 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by MrAdults »

The doubled-up Maken-X models have never animated. The animations are only for a subset of the skeleton, which Noesis doesn't try to support globally for NJCM because it would be wrong most of the time. The non-doubled-up Maken-X models are still animating fine.
Post Reply