Important information: this site is currently scheduled to go offline indefinitely by end of the year.

Stumped on a simple XML file in Spin Tires game. (SOLUTION)

The Original Forum. Game archives, full of resources. How to open them? Get help here.
figuare9
n00b

Stumped on a simple XML file in Spin Tires game. (SOLUTION)

Post by figuare9 »

I've uploaded it to mediafire. I'd like to edit these files at will. But lack the knowledge to do so. Plainly put, I'm a beginner. I normally just find something and change numbers when I mod. haha.

there may possibly be a chance that this is in a different language as well. But I can't be sure since I'm pretty much retarded when it comes to this.

I'm trying to edit some values on some vehicles but when I try to open these .XML files I get jibberish. If you could find a way to edit them, and teach me how I would be more then happy.

The files are found from this game. It's not out yet, but there's a demo. And would like to get a headstart on the release.

Code: Select all

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/358753914/spintires-the-ultimate-off-road-challenge 

http://www.mediafire.com/view/d4s240umz29za43/uaz.xml

http://www.mediafire.com/view/7aazndrso0qqaff/maz.xml
Last edited by figuare9 on Sat Jun 08, 2013 6:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
bacter
veteran

Re: Stumped on a simple XML file.

Post by bacter »

The files are encoded with a simple algorithm. Here is the code of the decoder function (in Delphi):

Procedure SpinTires_Decoder(pBuffer : Pointer;BufferSize : Integer);
Var I : Integer;
    p : ^Byte;
    B : Byte;
Begin
  p := pBuffer;
  For I := 0 To BufferSize - 1 Do
    Begin
      B := 251 - (I * 14);
      p^ := p^ + B;
      Inc(p);
    End;
End;
figuare9
n00b

Post by figuare9 »

so is it a big deal that you figured that out? Because I couldn't have ever. Probably something easy for you though :)