Important information: this site is currently scheduled to go offline indefinitely by end of the year.

Final Fantasy XIII-2 extraction

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
Newbie31
ultra-n00b

Re: Final Fantasy XIII-2 extraction

Post by Newbie31 »

Heyo, I'm still new at this. From your pictures it looks like you have altered the vertices on the mesh?
when I use the maxscript to import and inject if I delete any mesh/vertex or edge I get and error that stops it form injecting again, I assumed that it was because the maxscript doesn't actually export but opens the original file and modifies the vertex X,Y,Z positions so if a mesh is deleted than the vertice data isn't altered and the mesh looks the same(I use Noesis to view the change inbetween the models).

Is it possible to delete parts of the mesh/vertices or did you just move them or am I making a mistake somewhere? I'm not good with programming scripts and whatnot, I'm better at the meshing side of things.
mariokart64n
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran

Post by mariokart64n »

you are correct, only move vertices and UVs.. don't make an changes like deleting a face, or even breaking or detaching a face.. that'll cause the vertex count to increase.

just grab a vertex, or UV coordinate and move.... "thats it"

for my concept mod, I reshaped her body, then baked the textures from the original zero samus model into serah

the original normal maps were designed for accessories and clothes that were no longer there on my modification. so I converted the entire model back to quads, and imported it into mud box. Created a new high poly model, and was able to generate new normal maps by projecting the highpoly into serah's model..

even with all that work you'll notice my concept mod suffers from two unfortunate errors.
1. MisMatched Materials
2. Unwelded Vertex Normals

Not that these cannot be edited, but its was changed when the mod was finalized... most n00bs won't pickup the differences anyway