Important information: this site is currently scheduled to go offline indefinitely by end of the year.

[Request] Could use guidance on PS2 hex files

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
Meow
ultra-n00b

[Request] Could use guidance on PS2 hex files

Post by Meow »

Hello, and thank you in advance to anyone who lends their assistance. Long story short, I've extracted the multiplayer level files from a PS2 disc and have located the model (which is the map itself). I'm very new to hexadecimal files, but I think I understand the basics of it... I'm just looking for someone to help point me in the right direction so that the project can move forward. Here's a screenshot of where the map seems to begin. I'm not entirely sure if the float values include the 0xFFFFFFFF portions, or if those are meant to be "stops". Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks.
TheDude
mega-veteran
mega-veteran

Re: [Request] Could use guidance on PS2 hex files

Post by TheDude »

I'm not sure what to make of that.
Those numbers between the Fs look like 1 byte values, but I'm not sure.
It doesn't look like a geometry data though. Also it looks like the file pointer is at 0x17.
The values should be aligned to 4 byte boundaries,i.e., 0x18.
ameneko
advanced

Post by ameneko »