Important information: this site is currently scheduled to go offline indefinitely by end of the year.

Spotlight: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

General game file tools that are useful for more than one game
finale00
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 2382
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 1:22 am
Has thanked: 170 times
Been thanked: 307 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by finale00 »

Looked through the readme on palettes but there doesn't seem to be anything about passing a bytearray representing a color palette and then applying that to a color map to generate an rgba32 image.

viewtopic.php?f=18&t=9214

Anything I can do in noesis to avoid manually processing it?
Or maybe you can suggest something that's more effiicient than

Code: Select all

palette = readBytes(numColors * 4)

pixData = bytes()
for i in range(numPixels):
   index = readUByte()
   pixData = b''.join([pixData, palette[4*index : 4*index + 4]])
Which can take a long time depending on the size of the image lol
chrrox
Moderator
Posts: 2602
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 3:01 pm
Has thanked: 57 times
Been thanked: 1422 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by chrrox »

the quake format uses a pallet.
fmt_quake2_wal.py
finale00
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 2382
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 1:22 am
Has thanked: 170 times
Been thanked: 307 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by finale00 »

Oh imageDecodeRawPal there we go.
Now I just have to figure out why it's not showing anything LOL

EDIT: alpha was 0 for all the colors and I specified that alpha was used...
finale00
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 2382
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 1:22 am
Has thanked: 170 times
Been thanked: 307 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by finale00 »

Image data alignment in noesis?

viewtopic.php?p=75244#p75244
itoikenza
advanced
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 2:24 am
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by itoikenza »

I can't wait for you MrAdults to come out of hiatus... cause i found my new favorite char. Atelier Ayesha's Linca!?

Image wish for support for this like crazy...
finale00
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 2382
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 1:22 am
Has thanked: 170 times
Been thanked: 307 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by finale00 »

Damage values don't match epic animations.
I wonder if someone's written any importers for games from the series.
rexil
veteran
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 3:14 pm
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by rexil »

finale00 wrote:Damage values don't match epic animations.
I wonder if someone's written any importers for games from the series.
howfie did, for Atelier Rorona and Meruru.
itoikenza
advanced
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 2:24 am
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by itoikenza »

itoikenza wrote:Scratch Dat! i got the ff7 buster sword from ffx
which is pretty sweet. but it aint bound to her left hand when i rotate. Any way to bind objects? also i can't even move the weapon around. if i could i'd just grin and bear with it, which does have the advantage of being wielded by either hand or thrown.

Image
sad that no one can/wants to help me with this, i've asked for alot but this is all i really want for now, a way to bind the buster to her left hand. is there a way to do it in noesis. by exporting both models to 1 file or do i need 3dsmax?

can i just move the sword itself in noesis? i tried everything and only paine moves!?
Demonsangel
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 241
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 9:31 pm
Location: Antwerp
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 41 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by Demonsangel »

Is there a way to add more than 2 uvmaps for a single mesh in a model? The models I'm currently parsing have 3 UV sets.
MrAdults
Moderator
Posts: 1007
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:57 am
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 505 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by MrAdults »

Only 2 materials/UV sets per mesh are supported at the moment, if you need more you can always clone the mesh and apply the additional material(s) to that and subsequent meshes. Although this doesn't generally work for things that need more than 2 UV sets in a single pass, unless the others are for an additive pass anyway.

Regarding your other issue with separate skeleton and mesh files, you should load the skeleton file when you load the mesh file and load them into a single skeletal model file. If you can't automatically know which mesh goes to which skeleton, prompt the user I suppose, but generally you can always know even if you have to parse through some other game data files to find out.

I don't know of any Kinect+Noesis guides. It should be relatively common sense though. Make your skeleton, slap some geometry on it (for the sake of visibility), load it into Noesis, open up the Kinect interface, map the mocap skeleton bones to your skeleton (see how the example character model with its noekin file included with Noesis is set up for an example), then you can record on your skeleton and export animations with your skeleton.
Demonsangel
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 241
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 9:31 pm
Location: Antwerp
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 41 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by Demonsangel »

I think the 3rd uv map is for a bump texture, not that important so there is no hurry if you were ever planning on implementing.
About the skeleton, I managed to merge them based on the amount of bones in any armature files in the folder if there wasnt a specifically named file. However the devs prefered there weren't any public tools for their format so the project was put on hold.

How would I prompt for user input? There is no tkinter or wx module in the basic noesis kit.

Welcome back.

EDIT: where can I find the source for the MvC3 .mod plugin? Someone asked if I could try to parse the skeleton and animations.
Last edited by Demonsangel on Sat Jul 14, 2012 6:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
linhikaru7
ultra-n00b
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:45 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by linhikaru7 »

Hey, just popping in a for a spot advice!
I'm exporting a game model in the .fbx file format, but I need a the skeleton to have a root. Does anyone have an inkling of what I should be doing?

Many apologies in advance if this is the wrong place for this.
User avatar
Tosyk
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 1027
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:24 am
Location: Russia, Siberia
Has thanked: 269 times
Been thanked: 154 times
Contact:

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by Tosyk »

MrAdults, maybe u can help with this?

p.s.: also will be cool if ability of this tool can be implemented into noesis functional by source code
Thank you for all you do here
my blog | my forum
Demonsangel
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 241
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 9:31 pm
Location: Antwerp
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 41 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by Demonsangel »

linhikaru7 wrote:Hey, just popping in a for a spot advice!
I'm exporting a game model in the .fbx file format, but I need a the skeleton to have a root. Does anyone have an inkling of what I should be doing?

Many apologies in advance if this is the wrong place for this.
Which noesis script is it, perhaps I can add it for you.
linhikaru7
ultra-n00b
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:45 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by linhikaru7 »

Demonsangel wrote:Which noesis script is it, perhaps I can add it for you.
I'm thinking the closest thing to an add root skeleton thingy is the -ignoreroot or -noskel advanced commands. I'm also not entirely sure what you mean by script, which is no fault of your own, but rather because I'm a derp.
Post Reply