Important information: this site is currently scheduled to go offline indefinitely by end of the year.

[Request] Guild Wars 2 DAT

The Original Forum. Game archives, full of resources. How to open them? Get help here.
nicoli_s
advanced
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:47 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: [Request] Guild Wars 2 DAT

Post by nicoli_s »

i havent done any real work on gw1, so im not sure how the ARMFARMF file compares to gw1, if it even existed in gw1. didnt get a chance to finish it last night, but looks to be a header, a count of entries, and then for each entry 20 bytes of data, then null padded unicode strings for each entry
Nimba
beginner
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 8:32 pm
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: [Request] Guild Wars 2 DAT

Post by Nimba »

Here is I think the relevant information from GW1 that could help you:

Code: Select all


struct MainHeader
{
	unsigned char ID[4];
	int HeaderSize;
	int SectorSize;
	int CRC1;
	__int64 MFTOffset;
	int MFTSize;
	int Flags;
};

struct MFTHeader
{
	unsigned char ID[4];
	int Unk1;
	int Unk2;
	int EntryCount;
	int Unk4;
	int Unk5;
};

struct MFTEntry
{
	__int64 Offset;
	__int32 Size;
	unsigned short a;
	unsigned char b;
	unsigned char c;
	__int32 ID;
	__int32 CRC;
	__int32 type;
	__int32 uncompressedSize;
	__int32 Hash;
};

struct MFTExpansion
{
	int FileNumber;
	int FileOffset;
};
And earlier in the post, someone said that there is an extra 8 bits of data between the headersize and Sectorsize, so it turns into this:

Code: Select all

struct MainHeader
{
	unsigned char ID[4];
	int HeaderSize;
	unsigned char Unk0[4];
	int SectorSize;
	int CRC1;
	__int64 MFTOffset;
	int MFTSize;
	int Flags;
};
I am sure there is more that needs changing, but it seems to read the header correctly at least, not sure.

Here is the xentax wiki page for GW1:
http://wiki.xentax.com/index.php/Guild_Wars_DAT
nicoli_s
advanced
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:47 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: [Request] Guild Wars 2 DAT

Post by nicoli_s »

oh im not even worrying with the .dat for now, I got all the files extracted and categorized, so i dont even access the .dat in my app for now, i was talking about that one specific file you posted w/ the map names
Gornoth
ultra-n00b
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 3:43 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: [Request] Guild Wars 2 DAT

Post by Gornoth »

Anyone been able to extract files from the .dat yet?
polarbearsrawr
ultra-n00b
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 10:01 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: [Request] Guild Wars 2 DAT

Post by polarbearsrawr »

Gornoth wrote:Anyone been able to extract files from the .dat yet?
using the updated dat extractor provided it'll extract files alright with a few 'error' files which you can skip, but it seems they're not all 100% recognized or contain data errors. For instance there's only a few sound OGG files that appear which are less then a second in length and the only texture files that I can open are the DDS ones since the ATEX converter doesn't seem to work. The DDS files open reasonably well, but after a set X amount of pixels, there is a random color pixel inserted into the data stream, and this repeats through the entire image such that towards the bottom of the file they can be offset by quite a lot.
Nimba
beginner
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 8:32 pm
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: [Request] Guild Wars 2 DAT

Post by Nimba »

polarbearsrawr wrote:
Gornoth wrote:Anyone been able to extract files from the .dat yet?
using the updated dat extractor provided it'll extract files alright with a few 'error' files which you can skip, but it seems they're not all 100% recognized or contain data errors. For instance there's only a few sound OGG files that appear which are less then a second in length and the only texture files that I can open are the DDS ones since the ATEX converter doesn't seem to work. The DDS files open reasonably well, but after a set X amount of pixels, there is a random color pixel inserted into the data stream, and this repeats through the entire image such that towards the bottom of the file they can be offset by quite a lot.
Just an FYI for the ATEX reader (that ocmes with the browser or unpacker, forget which came with it). It actually can read the ATEX files and convert them to PNGs. It handsl DXT1-5 and 2 other specific ones. ATEP and ATEXDCX dont work.
parlan
ultra-n00b
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 7:29 pm

Re: [Request] Guild Wars 2 DAT

Post by parlan »

Hello,

I cant really extract much files.
After 14 files the program is closing with an error

Image
polarbearsrawr
ultra-n00b
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 10:01 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: [Request] Guild Wars 2 DAT

Post by polarbearsrawr »

parlan wrote:Hello,

I cant really extract much files.
After 14 files the program is closing with an error
You need to skip those files that error out by increasing the start file parameter in the command line. So instead of typing
gwunpacker gw2stream.dat x 0 124950
You would move on skipping the file 15 as you can see in the log window at the bottom and type:
gwunpacker gw2stream.dat x 16 124950
if that and any other files also error just go up by one each time continuing where the last error file was.
parlan
ultra-n00b
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 7:29 pm

Re: [Request] Guild Wars 2 DAT

Post by parlan »

Ahh, okay, horrible, but it seems to work by that now.
thank you :)
Lockout
ultra-n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 12:09 am
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: [Request] Guild Wars 2 DAT

Post by Lockout »

Very cool reading all this. Just a quick question is there any command line arguments found?
Antodias
ultra-n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 10:28 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: [Request] Guild Wars 2 DAT

Post by Antodias »

There are some just like in Guild Wars 1: -image, -bmp, -noui
crazycatz
ultra-n00b
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 9:27 pm
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: [Request] Guild Wars 2 DAT

Post by crazycatz »

Lockout wrote:Just a quick question is there any command line arguments found?
Here's a list of what I found in the program:
nopatch
pvpdemo
pressdemo
perf
nodemotimer
demo
cinema
authsrv
assetsrv
filesrv
localdat
fps
windowed
userid
update
uninstall
tokenpassword
token
texlod
startmap
shareArchive
repair
portalalias
portal
password
noui
nosound
nopatchui
nomusic
nodelta
multi
mce
image
exit
enablescripting
enabledevice
enablecommerce
email
diag
dat
demounset
demoLang
cuda
copydat
combatlog
defaultcharname
bmp
autologin
audio
Mr.Mouse
Site Admin
Posts: 4073
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 6:45 pm
Location: Dungeons of Doom
Has thanked: 450 times
Been thanked: 682 times
Contact:

Re: [Request] Guild Wars 2 DAT

Post by Mr.Mouse »

typ1232
ultra-n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 5:05 pm

Re: [Request] Guild Wars 2 DAT

Post by typ1232 »

nems
ultra-n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 3:30 pm

Re: [Request] Guild Wars 2 DAT

Post by nems »

Image

found here:
http://www.reddit.com/r/Guildwars2/comm ... dable_yet/

Someone can upload the dev client link?
Post Reply