Important information: this site is currently scheduled to go offline indefinitely by end of the year.

Rayman Origins image format.

Get your graphics formats figures out here! Got details for others? Post here!
Gh0stBlade
Moderator
Posts: 719
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 8:55 pm
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 496 times

Re: Rayman Origins image format.

Post by Gh0stBlade »

Here's another sample. i'm not any good at quickbms scripts....

Image

Ok im new to quickbms, I can insert the DDS header, but I can't make it overwrite the original header ;(
Click the thanks button if I helped!
Droolie
veteran
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 4:31 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: Rayman Origins image format.

Post by Droolie »

Great! If you'd give your script so far to me, I could adapt it so it overwrites the current one. :)
EDIT -> You might also have gotten the height wrong for that texture (but I'm not sure at all about this), because the bottom image (which is the left and right side of the top image) should be just as long as the top one. It is in the Wii version...
Gh0stBlade
Moderator
Posts: 719
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 8:55 pm
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 496 times

Re: Rayman Origins image format.

Post by Gh0stBlade »

Droolie wrote:Great! If you'd give your script so far to me, I could adapt it so it overwrites the current one. :)
EDIT -> You might also have gotten the height wrong for that texture (but I'm not sure at all about this), because the bottom image (which is the left and right side of the top image) should be just as long as the top one. It is in the Wii version...
Ok, I'm unable to fix the script and I've passed it on to Aluigi to see if he can correct the problem (he obviously can since he owns LoL)

I'll be able to post the script if it is fixed later on.

Image

As you said before, the height and width values I used are correct. Some files are just like this, or I did something else wrong (unlikely since some do it some don't)
Click the thanks button if I helped!
Gh0stBlade
Moderator
Posts: 719
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 8:55 pm
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 496 times

Re: Rayman Origins image format.

Post by Gh0stBlade »

Okay, it seems that Aluigi is busy. Someone else can have a go at fixing the script P:

Yeah it's a messy script, just rushed and it's my first one!

There is an issue where the DDS header is inserted before the original header, it doesn't overwrite the original header.
Open the image in hex editor and deleted the original header. If you don't the image will appear slightly out of place.

Script incomplete/buggy/inaccurate I'd appreciate it if someone would fix it (:

Code: Select all

# Rayman Origins PS3 DDS Converter
# Only for Playstation 3, Xbox is not supported!
# UNFINISHED SCRIPT!

get NAME basename
goto 0x20
get UNK1 byte
get UNK2 byte
get UNK3 byte
get UNK4 byte
set MEMORY_FILE2 binary "\x44\x44\x53\x20\x7C\x00\x00\x00\x07\x10\x0A\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x01\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x20\x00\x00\x00\x05\x00\x00\x00\x44\x58\x54\x35\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x08\x10\x40\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00"
putVarChr MEMORY_FILE2 0x11 UNK1 byte
putVarChr MEMORY_FILE2 0xA UNK1 byte
putVarChr MEMORY_FILE2 0xD UNK3 byte
putVarChr MEMORY_FILE2 0xC UNK4 byte
append
get SIZE asize MEMORY_FILE2         
log MEMORY_FILE 0 SIZE MEMORY_FILE2 
get SIZE asize                      
log MEMORY_FILE 0 SIZE             
append
get SIZE asize MEMORY_FILE
string NAME += ".dds"
log NAME 0 SIZE MEMORY_FILE
Click the thanks button if I helped!
Droolie
veteran
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 4:31 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: Rayman Origins image format.

Post by Droolie »

Fixed the issue you mentioned. I also rushed my fix but it works great now, thanks a lot for this!
How are you able to view the files' transparency though? I'm using the Photoshop DDS plugins from NVIDIA but they don't seem to show any transparency.

Code: Select all

# Rayman Origins PS3 DDS Converter
# Only for Playstation 3, Xbox is not supported!
# UNFINISHED SCRIPT!

get NAME basename
goto 0x20
get UNK1 byte
get UNK2 byte
get UNK3 byte
get UNK4 byte
set MEMORY_FILE2 binary "\x44\x44\x53\x20\x7C\x00\x00\x00\x07\x10\x0A\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x01\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x20\x00\x00\x00\x05\x00\x00\x00\x44\x58\x54\x35\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x08\x10\x40\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00"
putVarChr MEMORY_FILE2 0x11 UNK1 byte
putVarChr MEMORY_FILE2 0xA UNK1 byte
putVarChr MEMORY_FILE2 0xD UNK3 byte
putVarChr MEMORY_FILE2 0xC UNK4 byte
append
get SIZE asize MEMORY_FILE2
log MEMORY_FILE 0 SIZE MEMORY_FILE2
get SIZE asize      
math SIZE -= 128               
log MEMORY_FILE 128 SIZE             
append
get SIZE asize MEMORY_FILE
string NAME += ".dds"
log NAME 0 SIZE MEMORY_FILE
Doctor Loboto
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 2:52 am
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Rayman Origins image format.

Post by Doctor Loboto »

Excellent. But I'm also running into the transparency issue. I use PAINT.NET though, so that may be a problem as well. The edges are extremely pixelated.
Gh0stBlade
Moderator
Posts: 719
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 8:55 pm
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 496 times

Re: Rayman Origins image format.

Post by Gh0stBlade »

I am aware that there are some transparency issues with some textures. I've no idea why this is happening myself. Some are working perfect, some aren't. I'll take a look later since i'm abit busy right now.
Click the thanks button if I helped!
chrrox
Moderator
Posts: 2602
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 3:01 pm
Has thanked: 57 times
Been thanked: 1422 times

Re: Rayman Origins image format.

Post by chrrox »

Try changing from dxt 5 to dxt3 or vise versa
Droolie
veteran
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 4:31 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: Rayman Origins image format.

Post by Droolie »

chrrox wrote:Try changing from dxt 5 to dxt3 or vise versa
Alright, that works perfectly. Thanks a lot! :D
So this is the most recent script:

Code: Select all

# Rayman Origins PS3 DDS Converter
# Only for Playstation 3, Xbox is not supported!
# UNFINISHED SCRIPT!

get NAME basename
goto 0x20
get UNK1 byte
get UNK2 byte
get UNK3 byte
get UNK4 byte
set MEMORY_FILE2 binary "\x44\x44\x53\x20\x7C\x00\x00\x00\x07\x10\x0A\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x01\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x20\x00\x00\x00\x05\x00\x00\x00\x44\x58\x54\x33\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x08\x10\x40\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00"
putVarChr MEMORY_FILE2 0x11 UNK1 byte
putVarChr MEMORY_FILE2 0xA UNK1 byte
putVarChr MEMORY_FILE2 0xD UNK3 byte
putVarChr MEMORY_FILE2 0xC UNK4 byte
append
get SIZE asize MEMORY_FILE2
log MEMORY_FILE 0 SIZE MEMORY_FILE2
get SIZE asize      
math SIZE -= 128               
log MEMORY_FILE 128 SIZE             
append
get SIZE asize MEMORY_FILE
string NAME += ".dds"
log NAME 0 SIZE MEMORY_FILE
Athari
ultra-n00b
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 6:32 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Rayman Origins image format.

Post by Athari »

Guys, thank you for writing scripts to extract and convert the textures and for sharing the textures of PS3! It really helped me with designing my own game to see how level backgrounds in Rayman Origins are structured (I mostly mean Warcraft II-like ground* textures). All the great things are simple. :D

Information for people who try using the script above: it doesn't detect texture compression, it always assumes DXT3. If a texture isn't displayed correctly, try changing FOURCC code in its header from “DXT3” to either “DXT1” or “DXT5”. I've fixed manually all the textures I could fix and here is the result (I've probably missed some in the rush):

RaymanOrigins_PS3_Textures_Unpacked.part1.rar
RaymanOrigins_PS3_Textures_Unpacked.part2.rar

However, I'm still unable to view some of the textures. Some of them are 256-byte textures I couldn't care less about, some are light/ray maps or whatever, but some are likely real textures like “laser_heads_atlas01.png.dds” or “bosstail.tga.dds” or “jumping_mushrooms_*.png.dds”. Here is an example:

laser_heads_atlas01.png.dds

Any ideas?
Gh0stBlade
Moderator
Posts: 719
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 8:55 pm
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 496 times

Re: Rayman Origins image format.

Post by Gh0stBlade »

You should have provided the unconverted textures......
Click the thanks button if I helped!
Athari
ultra-n00b
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 6:32 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Rayman Origins image format.

Post by Athari »

C00L12345 wrote:You should have provided the unconverted textures......
Original: laser_heads_atlas01.png.ckd
Post Reply