Important information: this site is currently scheduled to go offline indefinitely by end of the year.

Spotlight: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

General game file tools that are useful for more than one game
MrAdults
Moderator
Posts: 1007
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:57 am
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 505 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by MrAdults »

Thanks for that, Zerox. :)

Here is the closest thing you're going to get out of me in terms of "teaching how to reverse engineer": http://www.richwhitehouse.com/index.php?postid=63
As it mentions, the practices are vast and varied, and you really just need to start doing it and learning. It's not something you can find a simple tutorial on, and any tutorial that seriously taught you how to reverse data would probably end up being more of a novel than a tutorial. First things to do would probably be... learning how to implement the type of data you want (if you want 3D models, learn how to make a 3D engine that renders 3D models, and observe common/best practices - this gives you a better idea of what to look for in someone else's data), learning IDA Pro (probably the most valuable tool in reverse engineering) as well as learning how to read the flavor of assembly for your target platform, and in my opinion, learning how to use Visual Studio and its debugger. That last bit is not necessary, but it accelerates the hell out of my own work.

So, those things I just mentioned are but a few core things to concern yourself with before you get started on reversing data, and they're all an undertaking on their own. Of course, the necessary level of complexity and involvement will also very greatly, and sometimes just knowing how to see some floats in some binary is enough to scrape by on.

Well then, I'm off to play Mortal Kombat for some ridiculous number of hours, then work.
beos
ultra-n00b
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 4:29 pm

Post by beos »

Hey,

is it possible to convert the maps from AVP 3? They are saved as "Env.RSCF"

Noeisis can read this format, but it says thats not able to load it into the preview window. So is there any way to load the maps? Would be awesome! :)
finale00
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 2382
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 1:22 am
Has thanked: 170 times
Been thanked: 307 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by finale00 »

MrAdults wrote: So, those things I just mentioned are but a few core things to concern yourself with before you get started on reversing data, and they're all an undertaking on their own.
lol that's quite a lot...

I'll probably just start with something simple, like figuring out how to extract PSP GMO's from games that have already been extracted and then just run that through neosis so I only have to focus on extracting data....I think.

Then maybe go from there.
Can I assume all GMO's are the same?
Devilot
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 443
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 10:12 am
Has thanked: 159 times
Been thanked: 49 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by Devilot »

Happy Easter to the creator of a most revolutionary tool, and to all the readers of this thread :)
finale00
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 2382
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 1:22 am
Has thanked: 170 times
Been thanked: 307 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by finale00 »

I was browsing through one the kingdom hearts thread and noticed some people had problems with getting noesis to recognize the plugins.

I had no issues with the plugin until I recently reformatted my computer and then when I loaded noesis again, those particular plugins weren't being loaded lol (and similarly, all of the other plugins are loaded just fine)

There were a couple posts about how people solved their problem. I've tried them but to no avail.
So I'll probably mess around and see if I figure out what the problem might be. Unless anyone wants to suggest a list of things to check?
MrAdults
Moderator
Posts: 1007
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:57 am
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 505 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by MrAdults »

Well, off the top of my head:

1) Make sure you have the latest version of Noesis from the official site. Most plugins will refuse to load if the version of Noesis is less than when they were compiled.
2) Load the plugin DLL in http://www.dependencywalker.com/ and make sure no errors show up and that it can load any dependencies it may have.
3) Don't put Noesis in the Program Files (x86 or otherwise) folder, you may end up running into virtual filesystem problems, which could prevent Noesis from finding plugin DLL's.
4) Under Vista or 7, right-click and use the Run as Administrator option to start the program.

Other than that, I dunno.
finale00
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 2382
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 1:22 am
Has thanked: 170 times
Been thanked: 307 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by finale00 »

MSVCR80.DLL comes up as a big question mark, saying it wasn't found.
That's rather odd. The other plugins don't complain even when they use it.

So I tried copying them over to the plugins folder and noesis comes up with a runtime error saying an application tried to load a library incorrectly. Well, it still went through, but the three plugins are still unrecognized lol

This seems generic and useless:

"Error: The Side-by-Side configuration information for "D:\game tools\noesis\plugins\KINGDOM_HEARTS.DLL" contains errors. The application has failed to start because its side-by-side configuration is incorrect. Please see the application event log for more detail (14001).
"
MrAdults
Moderator
Posts: 1007
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:57 am
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 505 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by MrAdults »

I can't see a reason that only the KH plugin would have a problem with the MSVC80 runtime dependency and other plugins wouldn't. That's pretty weird. Looking at the KH plugin DLL on my system with dependency walker, also, it has no problem with that dependency.

Maybe try reinstalling the runtime libs? (don't put them in your plugins folder, either, as you should never need to do that) http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/d ... laylang=en
I have no idea what kind of horror this could inflict on your system. Hopefully none. Just saying, though.
User avatar
Tosyk
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 1027
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:24 am
Location: Russia, Siberia
Has thanked: 269 times
Been thanked: 154 times
Contact:

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by Tosyk »

why noesis killing additional UV-channels? :[
Thank you for all you do here
my blog | my forum
finale00
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 2382
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 1:22 am
Has thanked: 170 times
Been thanked: 307 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by finale00 »

MrAdults wrote: Maybe try reinstalling the runtime libs? (don't put them in your plugins folder, either, as you should never need to do that) http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/d ... laylang=en
I have no idea what kind of horror this could inflict on your system. Hopefully none. Just saying, though.
So after doing some google searches and seeing dozens of people complaining about the same error (side-by-side config error on vista for various libraries) I came across all sorts of links for the runtime packages in each thread. And it seems like a lot of them were different as well.

In the end after installing 3-4 packages this one seems to have worked out

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/d ... laylang=en

So if anyone has trouble with this just go through each package and hope one of them works :|
User avatar
szfzafa
advanced
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 11:46 am
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by szfzafa »

Sorry to bother u MrAdults, but i've got a problem, Noesis normally reads GMO well but not this case - Noesis Error-reading GMO models extracted from PSP (i've already made a post here viewtopic.php?f=16&t=6597)
i wonder if the GMO reading algorithm/sourcecode is avaliable? hoping you could help look into this case, thanks~ :P
MrAdults wrote:...
Cloud452
veteran
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 2:50 pm
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by Cloud452 »

Is there something in particular I have to do so that a model from Bujingai looks like:

http://oasis.xentax.com/images/snap63_l.jpg

and not:

http://imageshack.us/m/24/5518/bujingailau.png or http://imageshack.us/m/17/8572/bujingaigackt.png
finale00
M-M-M-Monster veteran
M-M-M-Monster veteran
Posts: 2382
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 1:22 am
Has thanked: 170 times
Been thanked: 307 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by finale00 »

Cloud452 wrote:Is there something in particular I have to do so that a model from Bujingai looks like:

http://oasis.xentax.com/images/snap63_l.jpg

and not:

http://imageshack.us/m/24/5518/bujingailau.png or http://imageshack.us/m/17/8572/bujingaigackt.png

Try flipping the UV's when you're exporting the model.
Cloud452
veteran
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 2:50 pm
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by Cloud452 »

finale00 wrote:
Cloud452 wrote:Is there something in particular I have to do so that a model from Bujingai looks like:

http://oasis.xentax.com/images/snap63_l.jpg

and not:

http://imageshack.us/m/24/5518/bujingailau.png or http://imageshack.us/m/17/8572/bujingaigackt.png

Try flipping the UV's when you're exporting the model.
Gave it a go, still an odd mess:

http://img687.imageshack.us/img687/9058/plylaubase.png

(I also have to select the plyBase.bjp file or the model is even more borked when I use "plyLau.bjp": http://img19.imageshack.us/img19/2494/pllaulau.png).
Trishty
advanced
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 2:37 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 15 times
Contact:

Re: Señor Casaroja's Noesis

Post by Trishty »

I have see Saber from Fate unlimited codes PS2 here
http://oasis.xentax.com/images/snap21_l.jpg
I extract Fate unlimited codes and i have .dff file but cant be view with noesis. How do you make it can be view with noesis?
Fate unlimited codes is new RenderWare .dff right?
But noesis just support old RenderWare .dff, so how to convert new RenderWare .dff to old RenderWare .dff and can be view with noesis?
Thanks!

Sr for my bad eng
Post Reply