Important information: this site is currently scheduled to go offline indefinitely by end of the year.

Forza Motorsport Resource Extraction (.carbin)

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
Simon
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 5:41 pm
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: [Xbox 360] Forza 3 Resource Extraction Tool (.carbin)

Post by Simon »

Ehm - Find -> Replace ?
Varel
ultra-n00b
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 10:31 pm
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: [Xbox 360] Forza 3 Resource Extraction Tool (.carbin)

Post by Varel »

Open the .obj in word, use the replace (all) command and then save again. Eaassssyyy compare to the works the work guys did... :wink:
Rick
Moderator
Posts: 388
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 10:10 pm
Been thanked: 84 times
Contact:

Re: [Xbox 360] Forza 3 Resource Extraction Tool (.carbin)

Post by Rick »

Varel wrote:I think I have the solution for our problem with 3dsmax!!!

The .obj file is using , instead of . (0,004 not 0.004) :P

If you change those the model is ok and with proper normals!
Hmm, someone writing out text files without using CultureInfo.InvariantCulture?
https://blog.gib.me/

Don't ask me about localization tools; if you don't have the resources to develop them yourself you don't need them.
Simon
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 5:41 pm
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: [Xbox 360] Forza 3 Resource Extraction Tool (.carbin)

Post by Simon »

If you want no commas:

Open Car.cs

Replace

Code: Select all

output.WriteLine("v {0} {1} {2}", v.x, v.y, v.z);
with

Code: Select all

output.WriteLine("v {0} {1} {2}", v.x.ToString().Replace(",", "."), v.y.ToString().Replace(",", "."), v.z.ToString().Replace(",", "."));
Replace

Code: Select all

output.WriteLine("vn {0} {1} {2}", v.normal.X, v.normal.Y, v.normal.Z);
with

Code: Select all

output.WriteLine("vn {0} {1} {2}", v.normal.X.ToString().Replace(",", "."), v.normal.Y.ToString().Replace(",", "."), v.normal.Z.ToString().Replace(",", "."));
Save Car.cs

Open CarPiece.cs

Replace

Code: Select all

output.WriteLine("v {0} {1} {2}", Parent.Vertices[i].x, Parent.Vertices[i].y, Parent.Vertices[i].z);
with

Code: Select all

output.WriteLine("v {0} {1} {2}", Parent.Vertices[i].x.ToString().Replace(",", "."), Parent.Vertices[i].y.ToString().Replace(",", "."), Parent.Vertices[i].z.ToString().Replace(",", "."));
Replace

Code: Select all

 output.WriteLine("vn {0} {1} {2}", Parent.Vertices[i].normal.X, Parent.Vertices[i].normal.Y, Parent.Vertices[i].normal.Z);
with

Code: Select all

 output.WriteLine("vn {0} {1} {2}", Parent.Vertices[i].normal.X.ToString().Replace(",", "."), Parent.Vertices[i].normal.Y.ToString().Replace(",", "."), Parent.Vertices[i].normal.Z.ToString().Replace(",", "."));
Save CarPiece.cs

Open CarSection.cs

Replace

Code: Select all

output.WriteLine("v {0} {1} {2}", Vertices[i].x, Vertices[i].y, Vertices[i].z);
with

Code: Select all

output.WriteLine("v {0} {1} {2}", Vertices[i].x.ToString().Replace(",", "."), Vertices[i].y.ToString().Replace(",", "."), Vertices[i].z.ToString().Replace(",", "."));
Replace

Code: Select all

output.WriteLine("vn {0} {1} {2}", v.normal.X, v.normal.Y, v.normal.Z);
with

Code: Select all

output.WriteLine("vn {0} {1} {2}", v.normal.X.ToString().Replace(",", "."), v.normal.Y.ToString().Replace(",", "."), v.normal.Z.ToString().Replace(",", "."));
TomWin
veteran
Posts: 146
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 7:46 pm
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: [Xbox 360] Forza 3 Resource Extraction Tool (.carbin)

Post by TomWin »

done in Notepad++
and well we have a big problem, because mesh is already bumpy in Forza Studio, bumps are somehow masked by hmm no idea what, but please take a look on that pic:
Image
export to obj and then 3dsmax works perfect, but look at poly structure, is total mess (just covered by some dunno some advanced normals), bumps everywhere, none modeler make such ugly poly structure:
Image Image Image
so export to any other format/program cause model look like that :(
Image
Dan Frederiksen
beginner
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 3:42 pm
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: [Xbox 360] Forza 3 Resource Extraction Tool (.carbin)

Post by Dan Frederiksen »

tomwin, as I have stated several times, because the vertices are only in 16bit format they have precision issues. it can perhaps be handled with a very fancy algorithm that tries to reconstruct the lost precision using the vertex normals as help and the general shape of the geometry. that's not an easy algorithm to make though. it would likely take me a considerable amount of time to get right should I some day choose to do it.

and it's not a huge problem. it's not like the overall model is useless as it is.

extracting the geometry with material and mapping coordinates should be the primary focus.
then someone should perhaps extract all the models and prepare them in max and make a torrent and spread it on the net. no reason all people should use the software if they just want to play with the models.
User avatar
Tosyk
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 1027
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:24 am
Location: Russia, Siberia
Has thanked: 269 times
Been thanked: 154 times
Contact:

Re: [Xbox 360] Forza 3 Resource Extraction Tool (.carbin)

Post by Tosyk »

Hi all. Try to re-save obj-file into the collada (dae) trough Deep Exploration. For me it's work fine.

But no UV coords :?
Thank you for all you do here
my blog | my forum
toolieo
veteran
Posts: 123
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 2:16 pm
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: [Xbox 360] Forza 3 Resource Extraction Tool (.carbin)

Post by toolieo »

Tosyk wrote:Hi all. Try to re-save obj-file into the collada (dae) through Deep Exploration. For me it's work fine.
You can import that fine even with just obj, if you disable deep exploration's smoothing it becomes the orignal smoothing (bumpy in other words) :]
------------

Exporting from 3dsmax keeps orignal smoothing aswell. So I don't think there is anyway possible to export from 3dsmax and keeping it smooth. Unless someone knows a way around this.
Image
User avatar
Tosyk
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 1027
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:24 am
Location: Russia, Siberia
Has thanked: 269 times
Been thanked: 154 times
Contact:

Re: [Xbox 360] Forza 3 Resource Extraction Tool (.carbin)

Post by Tosyk »

toolieo wrote:
Tosyk wrote:Hi all. Try to re-save obj-file into the collada (dae) through Deep Exploration. For me it's work fine.
You can import that fine even with just obj, if you disable deep exploration's smoothing it becomes the orignal smoothing (bumpy in other words) :]
------------

Exporting from 3dsmax keeps orignal smoothing aswell. So I don't think there is anyway possible to export from 3dsmax and keeping it smooth. Unless someone knows a way around this.
Damn, you're right! :(
Thank you for all you do here
my blog | my forum
Rick
Moderator
Posts: 388
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 10:10 pm
Been thanked: 84 times
Contact:

Re: [Xbox 360] Forza 3 Resource Extraction Tool (.carbin)

Post by Rick »

sommergemuese wrote:If you want no commas:
That is horrible.

Change every .ToString().Replace(",", ".") to .ToString(CultureInfo.InvariantCulture).
https://blog.gib.me/

Don't ask me about localization tools; if you don't have the resources to develop them yourself you don't need them.
Simon
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 5:41 pm
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: [Xbox 360] Forza 3 Resource Extraction Tool (.carbin)

Post by Simon »

What the fuck?

Are you always such a dick?

Next time Post your "Tips" more polite please...

BTW:

Code: Select all

Error	2	The name 'CultureInfo' does not exist in the current context	C:\Users\Simon\Desktop\Forza Studio\Car.cs	138	68	Forza Studio
Error	3	The name 'CultureInfo' does not exist in the current context	C:\Users\Simon\Desktop\Forza Studio\Car.cs	138	123	Forza Studio
Error	4	The name 'CultureInfo' does not exist in the current context	C:\Users\Simon\Desktop\Forza Studio\Car.cs	138	178	Forza Studio
Error	5	The name 'CultureInfo' does not exist in the current context	C:\Users\Simon\Desktop\Forza Studio\Car.cs	149	76	Forza Studio
Error	6	The name 'CultureInfo' does not exist in the current context	C:\Users\Simon\Desktop\Forza Studio\Car.cs	149	127	Forza Studio
Error	7	The name 'CultureInfo' does not exist in the current context	C:\Users\Simon\Desktop\Forza Studio\Car.cs	149	178	Forza Studio
Error	8	The name 'CultureInfo' does not exist in the current context	C:\Users\Simon\Desktop\Forza Studio\CarSection.cs	175	85	Forza Studio
Error	9	The name 'CultureInfo' does not exist in the current context	C:\Users\Simon\Desktop\Forza Studio\CarSection.cs	175	150	Forza Studio
Error	10	The name 'CultureInfo' does not exist in the current context	C:\Users\Simon\Desktop\Forza Studio\CarSection.cs	175	215	Forza Studio
Error	11	The name 'CultureInfo' does not exist in the current context	C:\Users\Simon\Desktop\Forza Studio\CarSection.cs	181	72	Forza Studio
Error	12	The name 'CultureInfo' does not exist in the current context	C:\Users\Simon\Desktop\Forza Studio\CarSection.cs	181	123	Forza Studio
Error	13	The name 'CultureInfo' does not exist in the current context	C:\Users\Simon\Desktop\Forza Studio\CarSection.cs	181	185	Forza Studio
Error	14	The name 'CultureInfo' does not exist in the current context	C:\Users\Simon\Desktop\Forza Studio\CarPiece.cs	244	81	Forza Studio
Error	15	The name 'CultureInfo' does not exist in the current context	C:\Users\Simon\Desktop\Forza Studio\CarPiece.cs	244	142	Forza Studio
Error	16	The name 'CultureInfo' does not exist in the current context	C:\Users\Simon\Desktop\Forza Studio\CarPiece.cs	244	203	Forza Studio
Error	17	The name 'CultureInfo' does not exist in the current context	C:\Users\Simon\Desktop\Forza Studio\CarPiece.cs	250	89	Forza Studio
Error	18	The name 'CultureInfo' does not exist in the current context	C:\Users\Simon\Desktop\Forza Studio\CarPiece.cs	250	157	Forza Studio
Error	19	The name 'CultureInfo' does not exist in the current context	C:\Users\Simon\Desktop\Forza Studio\CarPiece.cs	250	225	Forza Studio
I know you have to add using System.Globalization first...

But maybe there are people who have NO C++ Experience ??

And watch how looks the generated OBJ with your "Tip":
v -0.5003871 0,9645394 -1,996927
v -0.4957215 0,9475064 -1,99138
v -0.5014154 0,9475283 -1,991357
v -0.49639 0,9645215 -1,996828
v -0.4950229 0,9633113 -1,994916
v -0.4950284 0,9477165 -1,989751
v -0.4951583 0,9498532 -1,973909
v -0.4947492 0,9302953 -1,981959
v -0.4949514 0,930446 -1,909435
v -0.4950854 0,9188257 -1,973933
Useless..
terzer
n00b
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 6:04 pm

Re: [Xbox 360] Forza 3 Resource Extraction Tool (.carbin)

Post by terzer »

Veegie wrote:Image
Experiment gentlemen.
doesn't work for me. the same settings, also 3ds 2010
Rick
Moderator
Posts: 388
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 10:10 pm
Been thanked: 84 times
Contact:

Re: [Xbox 360] Forza 3 Resource Extraction Tool (.carbin)

Post by Rick »

sommergemuese wrote:What the fuck?

Are you always such a dick?

Next time Post your "Tips" more polite please...

I know you have to add using System.Globalization first...

But maybe there are people who have NO C++ Experience ??

And watch how looks the generated OBJ with your "Tip":

Useless..
I'm sorry if it came off as dickish, but it really was a terrible solution. It's also C#, not C++. And if it's still outputting , for floats then you missed some.
https://blog.gib.me/

Don't ask me about localization tools; if you don't have the resources to develop them yourself you don't need them.
ALYX
advanced
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 7:33 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: [Xbox 360] Forza 3 Resource Extraction Tool (.carbin)

Post by ALYX »

Can someone upload a modified program? Because not all people have MS Visual Studio and cannot rebuild project.
Simon
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 5:41 pm
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: [Xbox 360] Forza 3 Resource Extraction Tool (.carbin)

Post by Simon »

Here is it: http://ul.to/3f9yrr

Sorry, but I missed nothing, Checked 3 Times ;)
Post Reply