Important information: this site is currently scheduled to go offline indefinitely by end of the year.

The Last Express HPF files

The Original Forum. Game archives, full of resources. How to open them? Get help here.
pythonnoob
ultra-n00b

The Last Express HPF files

Post by pythonnoob »

Hello,

I am a complete noob at this, but here goes:

Is anyone able to take see if they can make any sense of the *.HPF files that contain the data for the 1997 game The Last Express?

As far as I kinow, no one has ever been able to extract data from the files, although that could be because the game flopped commercially. The file that I am attaching is a "cut" version of the 30 MB file HD.HPF (the file that contains the data stored on the hard disk). The rest of the game's data is stored on the game's 3 CD's and run from there. On each cd there is one HPF file about 500-600 MB in size, named CD1.HPF, CD2.HPF, etc.

As well, the game's demo (42 MB) can be downloaded from here: http://lastexpress.markmoran.net/download/expdemo.zip

You may not have much luck, as I believe that because of the radically different game approach (real-time as in 24), the game uses its own custom programming language.

I hope that someone will be able to figure out this format, as I would love to see what is inside after all these years.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Deniz Oezmen
VIP member
VIP member

Re: The Last Express HPF files

Post by Deniz Oezmen »

pythonnoob wrote:I hope that someone will be able to figure out this format, as I would love to see what is inside after all these years.
Well, the archive structure seems to be quite straightforward. Try the attached program; it worked pretty well with the demo file.

You probably will not be able to do much with the extracted files, however. They have custom formats, so we will have to figure out those as well ...

Code: Select all

HPFExt.exe archive.hpf