Important information: this site is currently scheduled to go offline indefinitely by end of the year.

Railway Empires Train Engine models

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
Post Reply
User avatar
kingfisher13
veteran
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 7:32 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Railway Empires Train Engine models

Post by kingfisher13 »

So I successfully unpacked the .fuk files of the Railway Empire game, because I absolutely love classic steam locomotives from the early days of trains, and this game has fantastic reproductions of them all. The game uses the Gaming Mind Studios Kalypso engine, the QuickBMS script can be found here: http://aluigi.altervista.org/bms/gaming ... os_fuk.bms

Thanks to Luigi for putting that together for us!
His script successfully unpacked the .fuk compressed game files, which created a complete file structure with names and everything. I'd like to propose that we figure out this game's model format, because I don't recognize it, and I haven't found any tools through my research that can open them. It doesn't help that Google search doesn't work well with vague search terms, such as "Railway Empire 3d models" etc etc.

So the game file structure and naming system is very simple, and it was easy to find all the files in each folder for each locomotive. I've put together a sample pack of the files for the Iron Duke locomotive for anyone interested to take a look at: https://sta.sh/027em6yb0ene

Is anyone else interested in this game or its models?

EDIT: I've attached screenshots of the file structure for your reference.
Capture.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
kingfisher13
veteran
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 7:32 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Railway Empires Train Engine models

Post by kingfisher13 »

Ok, since my post got magically zero responses, I'll throw some money at the problem, hopefully that helps grease the gears.

I'm willing to pay anyone who helps me do what I asked a decent chunk of cash for their assistance, in US dollars.
Karpati
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 467
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 95 times

Re: Railway Empires Train Engine models

Post by Karpati »

The link to the sample files does not work.
User avatar
Joschka
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 286
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2019 3:51 pm
Has thanked: 73 times
Been thanked: 413 times

Re: Railway Empires Train Engine models

Post by Joschka »

Took a very quick look at the samples, vertices positions and UVs seem easy to get. Indices are obviously in the .ibuf files but had no time to see how they work.
Capture.PNG
Here's the wip noesis script that I did real quick

Code: Select all

from inc_noesis import *
import os

def registerNoesisTypes():
	handle = noesis.register("train",".vbuf")
	noesis.setHandlerTypeCheck(handle, CheckType)
	noesis.setHandlerLoadModel(handle, LoadModel)	
	return 1
	
def CheckType(data):
	bs = NoeBitStream(data)
	if len(data) < 16:
		print("Invalid file, too small")
		return 0
	return 1

def LoadModel(data, mdlList):
	
	ctx = rapi.rpgCreateContext()
	bs = NoeBitStream(data)
	bs.setEndian(NOE_LITTLEENDIAN)
	dir = rapi.getDirForFilePath(rapi.getInputName())
	vBufFiles = [f for f in os.listdir(dir) if os.path.isfile(os.path.join(dir, f)) and f.endswith(".vbuf")]
	iBufFiles = [f for f in os.listdir(dir) if os.path.isfile(os.path.join(dir, f)) and f.endswith(".ibuf")]
	
	
	opcode = bs.readUInt()
	bs.readBytes(0x18 if opcode==4 else 0x24 if opcode==6 else 0)
	stride = bs.readUInt()
	bufferSize = bs.readUInt()
	vbuffer = bs.readBytes(bufferSize)
		
	rapi.rpgBindPositionBuffer(vbuffer, noesis.RPGEODATA_HALFFLOAT,stride)
	if stride == 0x24:
		rapi.rpgBindUV1BufferOfs(vbuffer, noesis.RPGEODATA_FLOAT,stride,20)
		
	rapi.rpgCommitTriangles(None, noesis.RPGEODATA_USHORT, bufferSize//36, noesis.RPGEO_POINTS, 1)
	try:
		mdl = rapi.rpgConstructModel()
	except:
		mdl = NoeModel()
	mdlList.append(mdl)
	
	return 1
No need for money or anything.
Probably don't expect me to finish the job, I'm quite busy with my own projects, good luck.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
kingfisher13
veteran
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 7:32 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Railway Empires Train Engine models

Post by kingfisher13 »

Thanks for your help, hopefully someone can take your script and finish it. Also, Karpati the link does work, it hasn't been taken down, and I just opened it myself a few minutes ago to make sure.

Again, I'm offering a decent chunk of money via Paypal to anyone willing to work on this project.
Sharppy
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2018 8:09 am
Has thanked: 83 times
Been thanked: 66 times

Re: Railway Empires Train Engine models

Post by Sharppy »

if anyone has a second or know scripting i was hoping to update this script so it reads faces properly. anyone out there able to help ?
I was able to do many of them manually but i see this script can pull verts just not faces. anyone able to help me ?
Image
I dont know scripting or i would attempt it myself. I tried to add face data but no idea what im doing.

Samples
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1tJi8fn ... sp=sharing
User avatar
shakotay2
MEGAVETERAN
MEGAVETERAN
Posts: 4287
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:24 am
Location: Nexus, searching for Jim Kirk
Has thanked: 1149 times
Been thanked: 2242 times

Re: Railway Empires Train Engine models

Post by shakotay2 »

loco_0660oldmaude0.model: seems there's a problem with the face indices.

What's the name of that model which worked for you?
Tuts: a) Bigchillghost, viewtopic.php?f=29&t=17889
b) Extracting simple models: http://forum.xentax.com/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=10894
"Quoting the whole thing. Would u ever stop this nonsense?"
User avatar
Durik256
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 428
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 7:26 pm
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 429 times

Re: Railway Empires Train Engine models

Post by Durik256 »

shakotay2 wrote: Sat Feb 19, 2022 11:54 pm loco_0660oldmaude0.model: seems there's a problem with the face indices.
seems to be (ib0).ibuf have faces for all 3 models: (vb0, vb1, vb2).vbuf :?
for loco_0660oldmaude0.model.vb0.vbuf:
offset 5 >> indices count 179607 >> face 59869
(maybe even less)
loco_0660oldmaude0.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Sharppy
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2018 8:09 am
Has thanked: 83 times
Been thanked: 66 times

Re: Railway Empires Train Engine models

Post by Sharppy »

Very nice this one has been brutal i haven't found anyone to get the mesh to parse properly. :(
Plokman
ultra-n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 02, 2022 3:31 am

Re: Railway Empires Train Engine models

Post by Plokman »

Oh my I do hope this moves along to include a setup for Blender, I love the engines in the game but the locomotive Dragon is one I want to see in modeling mode. Not to change it but to help me model a locomotive of the same class, B&O Memnon! Anyone know how to get STL files now?
User avatar
Durik256
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran
Posts: 428
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 7:26 pm
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 429 times

Re: Railway Empires Train Engine models

Post by Durik256 »

Plokman wrote: Mon May 02, 2022 3:39 am Oh my I do hope this moves along to include a setup for Blender
it's train time :lol:
[*.model, *.ibuf, *.vbuf]
Image
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Post Reply