Important information: this site is currently scheduled to go offline indefinitely by end of the year.

Star Stable Online - CSA & TGA files

Read or post about compression. And decompression. Or ask questions how to decompress your files.
SimplisticCuriosity
ultra-n00b

Star Stable Online - CSA & TGA files

Post by SimplisticCuriosity »

I apologize if this is in the wrong thread or isn't considered ok for this forum.

I recently discovered a thread dedicated to ripping files from the Star Stable games a while back on another resource board. The thread was basically necro at that point but now I am curious. I have been trying to access the files for the MMO Star Stable Online to look at the textures of the models close-up. I was able to view them just fine for a while until a recent update had the files packed into 12 .CSA files for the data. I have tried asking others who have managed to get into the files for assistance but for some reason none will respond.

I am a complete noob when it comes to programming so maybe this is waaaaay out of my league and i should learn at least some basic programming first but i wanted to take a shot in asking this forum for some assistance or to point me in the right direction to learn how to do it myself.
Here is the original quote btw.
Hi all,

yes sso changed the file structure, but is not difficult to break the new packed files.
In Packfiles folder are file.csa for data and csaheader for filename, size, crc and position.
Is very easy to build a packer. you need a programming language like java and a hex editor like HxD(for windows).

Unfortunately, SSO has encrypted the PTE files -.-
So i need to build a packer, but maybe i'm not using the right google searches cuz i can't find anything directly focused at what i'm looking for i guess?
Any help would be appreciated. I really do want to learn how this all works.
Corpse4Life
ultra-n00b

Re: .csa files SSO

Post by Corpse4Life »