Important information: this site is currently scheduled to go offline indefinitely by end of the year.

Attempt to extract MTV Music Generator 3 (Xbox) sound files

Get help on any and all audio formats, or chip in and help others!
LeoneFamily
ultra-n00b

Attempt to extract MTV Music Generator 3 (Xbox) sound files

Post by LeoneFamily »

Hello, this is my very first post here! :)

I've been trying to extract sound samples from MTV Music Generator 3 on the OG Xbox to sample some riffs in Audacity and MIDI programs, as I am an hobbyist musician and would really love to edit some of those samples and make some nice stuff out of them :)

So, today I extracted the audio folders of the game disc. Already there are a couple of ready-to-play .wav files but they are all just full songs, they are not the individual samples. The only other file in the audio folder is a file by the name of dbbody.dbd, so I bought the full version of WATTO's Game Extractor 3.09 and attempted to open this file. The only thing that the program found in that file are 56 unnamed .pcx image files, 128 Bytes each, yet the actual file size of dbbody.dbd is over 900 MB. I tried searching for the in-game names of some of those samples using HxD (HEX viewer) but it found none of those sample titles. So I am powerless from this point on. If someone has the ability of extracting those samples I would be forever grateful! I will also ask any questions you may have :D

For now, here is that mysterious dbbody.dbd file that I suspect is the one containing the audio samples:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/2syh2b8gi6ioq ... y.dbd?dl=0

Thanks again from an overly polite french-canadian! :keke:
DKDave
ultra-veteran
ultra-veteran

Re: Attempt to extract MTV Music Generator 3 (Xbox) sound files

Post by DKDave »

That file is just a stream of raw 16-bit PCM, 44,000 Hz, mono audio data, almost 3 hours long, as far as I can tell.