Important information: this site is currently scheduled to go offline indefinitely by end of the year.

Reverse engineering of game archives - where the hell do I start?

Read or post any tutorial related to file format analysis for modding purposes.
nmkd
ultra-n00b

Reverse engineering of game archives - where the hell do I start?

Post by nmkd »

I'm a hobbyist game developer and I can code in C#.

I really want to get into game reverse engineering, but I really don't know where to start.

To be more specific, I'd like to make level viewers or extraction tools. The main inspiration here was Silent Hill 2 - there is a level viewer, but it's totally barebones (locked to 800x600 fullscreen, no alt-tabbing, ...).

I played around with SH2's map files a bit, but all I could figure out was that the textures are stored in DXT3/5 format with a 512 width, but I still have no idea how I would extract them.

So, yeah, where do I get started? It can't be so hard considering hundreds of games have extraction tools or even level viewers, but I can't find many ressources, and a lot of tools (the Silent Hill one I mentioned, for example) are clsoed source. And open-source tools often don't have much documentation.

Hoping to get some tips, thanks in advance :)
Pingu
veteran

Re: Reverse engineering of game archives - where the hell do I start?

Post by Pingu »

The only issue is I think you're wanting to start off too broad, and should try to narrow down. I usually split reverse engineering (for resources that is) into three categories:
Images
Audio
Models