Important information: this site is currently scheduled to go offline indefinitely by end of the year.

Frostbite model tools (Battlefield, Battlefront and others)

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
Post Reply
daemon1
MEGAVETERAN
MEGAVETERAN
Posts: 2647
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 2871 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by daemon1 »

o0Crofty0o wrote:If it helps i could provide more game files.
Can you provide your script after you've set your folders?
User avatar
HeliosAI
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 2:57 pm
Has thanked: 151 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by HeliosAI »

daemon1 wrote:
o0Crofty0o wrote:If it helps i could provide more game files.
Can you provide your script after you've set your folders?
Sure, here: https://cdn.pbrd.co/images/GUddmZD.bmp
daemon1
MEGAVETERAN
MEGAVETERAN
Posts: 2647
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 2871 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by daemon1 »

without files i can't say what's wrong

Can you give me example of character (its filename) which didnt dump?

p.s. also good if you can tell me which SB file its in
User avatar
HeliosAI
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 2:57 pm
Has thanked: 151 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by HeliosAI »

Examples for character parts would be
bundles\res\characters\heads\heads_kylo (only one texture extracts 't_hair_kylo_02_ns 15c2bb9415242877 0d000000010000000000000000000000.Texture')
bundles\res\characters\hero\rey\rey_01\
bundles\res\characters\hero\rey\rey_02\ (these are all entirely empty)
bundles\res\characters\hero\rey\rey_03\

I'm not sure how to tell which .sb files they are in, but almost all .toc files display thousands of 'Chunk not found.' errors in the python log.
This is the full list of .toc files: https://jpst.it/17E95
They are also here if you need them or don't have all of them.
Only chunks0.toc, frontend.toc and the localisation ones extract without any error. I suppose the missing character things are in characters.toc.
daemon1
MEGAVETERAN
MEGAVETERAN
Posts: 2647
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 2871 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by daemon1 »

weird. Other people were able to export Rey file with all her files.

can you send your whole script on pastebin?
User avatar
HeliosAI
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 2:57 pm
Has thanked: 151 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by HeliosAI »

Hmm i don't know what's going wrong then...
Here's the script https://pastebin.com/E7FQMZ5B
daemon1
MEGAVETERAN
MEGAVETERAN
Posts: 2647
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 2871 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by daemon1 »

Now its all clear. you dont have to just list CAT names, you need to read them all too.
Here, near the end of a script:

Code: Select all

cat=dict()
try: readCat(cat, catPath)
except: print "Unpatched cat not found."
try: readCat(cat, catPath2)
except: print "Unpatched cat2 not found."
...
try: readCat(cat, catPath8)
except: print "Unpatched cat8 not found."
User avatar
HeliosAI
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 2:57 pm
Has thanked: 151 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by HeliosAI »

Oh my sorry for the trouble, that fixed it. Thanks so much! :)
JohnMadden
ultra-n00b
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 1:45 am

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by JohnMadden »

Tried the new version of the dumper, now it's saying:

Unpatched cat3 not found.
Unpatched cat4 not found.
Unpatched cat5 not found.
Unpatched cat6 not found.
Unpatched cat7 not found.
Unpatched cat8 not found.
abilities.toc

Despite, all the paths for the cat files are correct.

Currently reading thread now, maybe my stuff got answered.
DarthPyro52
ultra-n00b
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2017 8:53 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by DarthPyro52 »

#catPath = r"Data\Win32\installation\space"
#catPath2 = r"Data\Win32\installation\initialexperience"

catPath = r"Data\Win32\installation\initialexperience\cas.cat"
updateCatPath = r"Patch\Win32\installation\initialexperience\cas.cat"

---those are the modified lines I used, which extracted all 59GB of files. "catPath" and "updateCatPath" need to be changed for every single cat path; for instance, if you wanted to extract the cat files for the "space" folder, you would change it to:

catPath = r"Data\Win32\installation\space\cas.cat"
updateCatPath = r"Patch\Win32\installation\space\cas.cat"

---delete the "catPath / catPath2" lines, or add a # in front of them as they appear to be useless, and only caused "no chunk found" errors for me.
User avatar
HeliosAI
mega-veteran
mega-veteran
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 2:57 pm
Has thanked: 151 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by HeliosAI »

JohnMadden wrote:Tried the new version of the dumper, now it's saying:

Unpatched cat3 not found.
Unpatched cat4 not found.
(...)
Additionally to what you already did, search for

Code: Select all

#make the paths absolute and normalize the slashes
for path in "catPath", "catPath2", "tocRoot", "tocRoot2":
and replace it with

Code: Select all

#make the paths absolute and normalize the slashes
for path in "catPath", "catPath2", "catPath3", "catPath4", "catPath5", "catPath6", "catPath7", "catPath8", "tocRoot", "tocRoot2":
daemon1
MEGAVETERAN
MEGAVETERAN
Posts: 2647
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 2871 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by daemon1 »

o0Crofty0o wrote: Additionally to what you already did, search for

Code: Select all

#make the paths absolute and normalize the slashes
for path in "catPath", "catPath2", "tocRoot", "tocRoot2":
and replace it with
Added to the script
dio3182
ultra-n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:37 pm

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by dio3182 »

Sorry if it's a dumb question, but how do I use swbf2full? Do I just drop the bf2 exe to fb_zstd.exe?
daemon1
MEGAVETERAN
MEGAVETERAN
Posts: 2647
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 2871 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by daemon1 »

dio3182 wrote:Sorry if it's a dumb question, but how do I use swbf2full? Do I just drop the bf2 exe to fb_zstd.exe?
no you need python to run the script. I'm not saying this is easy, but its a temporary solution
OrangeC
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 868
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 2:58 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 41 times

Re: Frostbite model tools (Battlefield 1, Battlefront 1, 2)

Post by OrangeC »

have you looked into how to decode the new version of ebx for audio/music? i can send samples from both battlefront 2 and nfs payback if needed.
Post Reply