Page 5 of 6

Re: Binary Domain / Yakuza (gmd) Noesis Script

Posted: Tue Apr 26, 2016 10:55 am
by eddiehimself
Szkaradek123 wrote:Hi
Here is blend file for import models from gmd files (Yakuza 5).
It requires to install Blender version 249b (32 bit) and Python 2.6.6.(32 bit).
Doubleclick file "Blender249.blend" and in Text Window press alt+p to run script.
Select file with *.gmd and press import.
Script import geometry, uv ,weights for vertex and bones.
Not all bones are joined.
Thankyou Thankyou Thankyou Thankyou THANK YOU!!!!! :keke: :keke: :keke:

Re: Binary Domain / Yakuza (gmd) Noesis Script

Posted: Sun May 01, 2016 10:45 am
by MisterNatal
Szkaradek123 wrote:Hi
Here is blend file for import models from gmd files (Yakuza 5).
It requires to install Blender version 249b (32 bit) and Python 2.6.6.(32 bit).
Doubleclick file "Blender249.blend" and in Text Window press alt+p to run script.
Select file with *.gmd and press import.
Script import geometry, uv ,weights for vertex and bones.
Not all bones are joined.
When I run the script I get an error :( can someone help me?

Re: Binary Domain / Yakuza (gmd) Noesis Script

Posted: Sun May 01, 2016 11:20 am
by Tosyk
Szkaradek123, thanks for the script!
please look at this file. Blender loads armature and first (?) object but gives me an error on the rest.
http://www.mediafire.com/download/dro5j ... 020_cmn.7z

p.s.: it's a vehicle judging by the textures.

EDIT: here's a props models:
http://www.mediafire.com/download/se5hu ... reactor.7z

EDIT2: I noticed that some characters looses second uv channel which used for normal maps. is there a way to import them?

Re: Binary Domain / Yakuza (gmd) Noesis Script

Posted: Sun May 01, 2016 11:57 am
by Naroax
Tosyk; I don't think the script is compatible with non-character models, it has been tried before.

Re: Binary Domain / Yakuza (gmd) Noesis Script

Posted: Thu May 05, 2016 1:00 am
by artworkplay
Szkaradek123 wrote:Hi
Here is blend file for import models from gmd files (Yakuza 5).
It requires to install Blender version 249b (32 bit) and Python 2.6.6.(32 bit).
Doubleclick file "Blender249.blend" and in Text Window press alt+p to run script.
Select file with *.gmd and press import.
Script import geometry, uv ,weights for vertex and bones.
Not all bones are joined.
Thank you for your great work with this model importer. Just wondering how to avoid this error when I tried to import a model
Image

Re: Binary Domain / Yakuza (gmd) Noesis Script

Posted: Thu May 05, 2016 9:17 am
by Szkaradek123
Please don't use portable software only installed. Or copy all files (replace old newGameLib with new) to folder with blender.exe .
But i prefer to install Blender version 32 bit and Python 2.6.6. 32 bit.

Re: Binary Domain / Yakuza (gmd) Noesis Script

Posted: Fri May 06, 2016 9:57 pm
by eddiehimself
Tosyk wrote:Szkaradek123, thanks for the script!
please look at this file. Blender loads armature and first (?) object but gives me an error on the rest.
http://www.mediafire.com/download/dro5j ... 020_cmn.7z

p.s.: it's a vehicle judging by the textures.

EDIT: here's a props models:
http://www.mediafire.com/download/se5hu ... reactor.7z

EDIT2: I noticed that some characters looses second uv channel which used for normal maps. is there a way to import them?
1. sadly, non-character models are still not working properly with this script. The old noesis script can import the geometry for most non-character models, but there's no UV mapping and 3 sets of identical geometry baked down into a single mesh, which obviously means a hell of a lot of work if you want to get it into a decent looking model.

2. You definitely don't need a 2nd UV channel for the normal maps; they use the same UV coordinates as the diffuse, spec and AO maps. There are mini repeating bump/diffuse/spec maps used to give more detail to certain materials, but that's not the same thing.

Re: Binary Domain / Yakuza (gmd) Noesis Script

Posted: Sat May 07, 2016 12:55 am
by MisterNatal
Szkaradek123 wrote:Please don't use portable software only installed. Or copy all files (replace old newGameLib with new) to folder with blender.exe .
But i prefer to install Blender version 32 bit and Python 2.6.6. 32 bit.
*EDIT* I FIGURED IT OUT! I didn't realize I had to copy that folder and python script to blender! xD I only copied the script I'm so dumb!

Re: Binary Domain / Yakuza (gmd) Noesis Script

Posted: Sat May 07, 2016 1:30 am
by artworkplay
Szkaradek123 wrote:Please don't use portable software only installed. Or copy all files (replace old newGameLib with new) to folder with blender.exe .
But i prefer to install Blender version 32 bit and Python 2.6.6. 32 bit.
Thanks so much for the tip, it works for me now.

Re: Binary Domain / Yakuza (gmd) Noesis Script

Posted: Sat May 07, 2016 10:55 am
by shakotay2
eddiehimself wrote:The old noesis script can import the geometry for most non-character models, but there's no UV mapping
talking about gmd.py from exactly 4 years ago? Then that's not the whole truth. :D
There's UV mapping, but not for all meshes.

And adding the type 0xF4 to the script like such will show up more UV maps:

Code: Select all

		if fvfInto[i][8] == 0x44:
			rapi.rpgBindUV1BufferOfs(VertBuff, noesis.RPGEODATA_HALFFLOAT, fvfInto[i][4], (fvfInto[i][4] - 8))
		if fvfInto[i][8] == 0xF4:
			rapi.rpgBindUV1BufferOfs(VertBuff, noesis.RPGEODATA_HALFFLOAT, fvfInto[i][4], (fvfInto[i][4] - 12))
(You're required to replace some weird #QNAN0 strings (not a number) in the exported obj file by 0, though. Didn't dig deeper into this, but for a1020_6.gmd, SM 41, vertex count: 1865 there's about 4062 of those QNANs, two of them per vt line, for g 41 166x2.)
a1020_6-uvs_type_F4.jpg
and 3 sets of identical geometry baked down into a single mesh, which obviously means a hell of a lot of work if you want to get it into a decent looking model.
could you give more detailed infos about this, please? :)

Re: Binary Domain / Yakuza (gmd) Noesis Script

Posted: Sat May 07, 2016 11:54 am
by Tosyk
eddiehimself wrote:2. The normal maps use the same UV coordinates as the diffuse, specular and AO maps, but some materials use mini repeating bump/diffuse/spec maps on top to give them more detail. It's just a case of scaling them down and adding them on top.
I realized that there's no second uv by myself a few days ago.

Re: Binary Domain / Yakuza (gmd) Noesis Script

Posted: Sun May 08, 2016 7:51 pm
by eddiehimself
shakotay2 wrote:
eddiehimself wrote:The old noesis script can import the geometry for most non-character models, but there's no UV mapping
talking about gmd.py from exactly 4 years ago? Then that's not the whole truth. :D
There's UV mapping, but not for all meshes.

And adding the type 0xF4 to the script like such will show up more UV maps:

Code: Select all

		if fvfInto[i][8] == 0x44:
			rapi.rpgBindUV1BufferOfs(VertBuff, noesis.RPGEODATA_HALFFLOAT, fvfInto[i][4], (fvfInto[i][4] - 8))
		if fvfInto[i][8] == 0xF4:
			rapi.rpgBindUV1BufferOfs(VertBuff, noesis.RPGEODATA_HALFFLOAT, fvfInto[i][4], (fvfInto[i][4] - 12))
(You're required to replace some weird #QNAN0 strings (not a number) in the exported obj file by 0, though. Didn't dig deeper into this, but for a1020_6.gmd, SM 41, vertex count: 1865 there's about 4062 of those QNANs, two of them per vt line, for g 41 166x2.)
a1020_6-uvs_type_F4.jpg
and 3 sets of identical geometry baked down into a single mesh, which obviously means a hell of a lot of work if you want to get it into a decent looking model.
could you give more detailed infos about this, please? :)
I meant there is no UV mapping in the models extracted using the old script, rather than that there is no UV mapping in the original .gmd model files themselves. Sorry if I was a bit confusing there. That looks like it could be useful so I might give that a try.

Well what I meant was that you had 3 identical sets of geometry, so 3 sets of vertices and polys, but they all get imported onto a single mesh object. So I'm really not sure if there is a quick way to remove the redundant geometry or anything.

Re: Binary Domain / Yakuza (gmd) Noesis Script

Posted: Mon May 23, 2016 11:01 am
by eddiehimself
So now there is a bit of another problem. Basically, some of the characters have extra pieces of clothing not rigged to the original skeleton, and these are stored in these with the .cth extension so you can't extract them using the .gmd export script.

Re: Binary Domain / Yakuza (gmd) Noesis Script

Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 11:09 pm
by KenMasters
does the script not work with the 64bit version?

Re: Binary Domain / Yakuza (gmd) Noesis Script

Posted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 5:59 am
by lionheartuk
This is a bit of a bump, well, one hell of a bump actually, but its the same script and game series so it'd be silly to make a new

But the noesis script doesn't appear to work with gmd files from Yakuza 0 on PS4.

Here are a few Yakuza 0 files

https://mega.nz/#F!cs9TUIbJ!VLacZDZYCpEoS_p4uUldVQ

A few open perfectly in this folder, whilst others even won't open at all, or they have connected vertices to other meshes (or to themselves).

The previous Yakuza game files also had this issue where some files worked, others 70% and others not at all.

These are all environment meshes however.

Is it possible for anyone to update this script, with a new Yakuza game out, I thought interest may return.