Page 3 of 8

Re: Rage (idTech5) model format md6

Posted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 6:36 pm
by Szkaradek123
Update for Blender249:
-add materials with correct uv (no the face UVs overlapping )

Re: Rage (idTech5) model format md6

Posted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 6:38 pm
by howfie
was there a bug in our code szkaradek123?

Re: Rage (idTech5) model format md6

Posted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 6:54 pm
by Szkaradek123
Qartar wrote: "At the very end of the file there is a footer with a list of materials, generally more materials than there are surfaces so I'm not sure what it represents."

This part is important for reading correct textures:

File format for this section:

dword[1] - nMaterials
nMaterials x {
dword[1] - long
string[long] - name of the material
dword[1] - get object id
dword[1] - get vertex id from object id - id_min
dword[1] - get vertex id from object id - id_max
id_max = id_max+1
}

Re: Rage (idTech5) model format md6

Posted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 11:10 pm
by howfie
cool, thx. fixed!

Re: Rage (idTech5) model format md6

Posted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 1:47 am
by 652845095
:wink: u guys really amazing!thanks

Re: Rage (idTech5) model format md6

Posted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 9:33 am
by Skykila
This is a very very very cool! But what about animation?

Re: Rage (idTech5) model format md6

Posted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 10:41 am
by howfie
anim files don't look that difficult, it's just a matter of having enough time. there are so many anim files all over the place (many shared animations). i provided source code so if anyone else who has the time wants to try... be my guest :-).

Re: Rage (idTech5) model format md6

Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 5:22 pm
by dragbody
Skykila wrote:
This is ALL models
http://www.multiupload.com/FQYQXSR2RM
Do you have the textures decompiled? If so, I've got the Blender importer working for the models and believe I could manually apply the textures now.

Or, can you tell me what tools I would need to decompile the textures myself?

Re: Rage (idTech5) model format md6

Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 10:22 pm
by Panzah
RAGE uses 4 megatextures for whole game so good luck using that with models, unless you cut it.
For reference, Megatexture is what Google Maps uses for example, from afar it's nice and dandy but from up close it's horridly blured, it's 1 texture of giant proportions that covers everything or almost everything in software it was used in. Very bad idea for games really.

Re: Rage (idTech5) model format md6

Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 10:39 pm
by dragbody
Panzah wrote:RAGE uses 4 megatextures for whole game so good luck using that with models, unless you cut it.
For reference, Megatexture is what Google Maps uses for example, from afar it's nice and dandy but from up close it's horridly blured, it's 1 texture of giant proportions that covers everything or almost everything in software it was used in. Very bad idea for games really.
I have no problem cutting it. The UV map of the models appears to be preserved with the import script linked above, and I don't mind the work. I just need the files themselves.

EDIT: Here's a view from Blender of the models:

Image

Re: Rage (idTech5) model format md6

Posted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 3:36 am
by rev3n4nt
Alright! :D You guys are amazing! It would be awesome if there is a way to grab those textures out of the game :)
P.S
By the way..I made my own doomguy model just a few month before the game "Rage" out..and it's too sad that some modeller from Id software made it already :( ..just want it to check :?
Image

Re: Rage (idTech5) model format md6

Posted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 8:03 pm
by rmezatang
was able to unpack the bmodel, bcm, and use the rage.exe to create the ls files...
Blender (2.49b) import script errors out when trying to import the bmodel file - (or bcm)
Traceback (most recent call last):
File rage.py line 365 in importer
File rage.py line 282 in parser
File rage.py line 116 in Bf
struct.error: unpack requires a string argument of length 4

Tried importing the .ls files using Lightwave 3D 9, but no luck there.
Lightwave files are .lwo, the .ls file opens in lsed.exe (script editor) but only as text,
how do I get it loaded as a model? (lightwave noob here - work mostly with 3dsmax, maya, and daz/poser)

any help greatly appreciated.

Re: Rage (idTech5) model format md6

Posted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 8:58 pm
by howfie
Open Modeler.
Select Utilities tab.
Select LScript > LScript from menu.
Find ls file.
Click Open.
Done.

As for textures, hooking the OpenGL API is still on my TODO list. If anyone wants to try, I can give you my replacement core OpenGL 1.2 header and source file. All you gotta do is modify the glTexImage2D function (which still applies in OpenGL 3.3), compile it as a DLL, place the new OpenGL32.dll in the game directory and hopefully Rage doesn't contain code to prevent people from hooking the OpenGL API. It will forward calls to the system OpenGL32.dll if necessary.

If you don't know how to compile a DLL, don't even bother trying he he he.

Re: Rage (idTech5) model format md6

Posted: Tue Feb 21, 2012 5:58 am
by rmezatang
Thanks for quick reply, imports work now - uv maps don't seem to always work though.
Not really a problem since we don't have textures ^0^

Blender import is supposed to have the UV mapping but still can't get that script to work. :(



and I was so happy when I got the Red Faction models out too...

Re: Rage (idTech5) model format md6

Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:47 am
by dragbody
rmezatang wrote:Thanks for quick reply, imports work now - uv maps don't seem to always work though.
Not really a problem since we don't have textures ^0^

Blender import is supposed to have the UV mapping but still can't get that script to work. :(



and I was so happy when I got the Red Faction models out too...
Which Red Faction game? I own Armageddon but I've been unable to figure out anything for its models.

As for RAGE, I still hope that it gets figured out sometime. Howfie--I have no idea how to do the things you described. I learn more modding tricks everyday, but I think you're well over my head at the moment.

And while I'm talking about models that haven't been figured out yet, if anyone gets the chance to work on Brink, I would be overjoyed. There's the gibbed trunk thing, but I can't figure that out. I'm not even sure it unpacks the files to a usable format.