Important information: this site is currently scheduled to go offline indefinitely by end of the year.

Horizon Zero Dawn

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
AtomicJunkie
ultra-n00b
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2020 1:26 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Horizon Zero Dawn

Post by AtomicJunkie »

This blender script snaps all the floating parts to their corresponding helper bones.
Additionally it adds a arrmature constraint to these parts so that they move with the armature.

Code: Select all

import bpy

# get the first armature in scene (blender valve importer names armatures after first imported filename)
for obj in bpy.context.scene.objects:
    if obj.type == 'ARMATURE':
        arma = obj
        break

# iterate through all bones from that armature
for b in arma.pose.bones:
    
    # get helper bones
    if b.name.endswith("_helper"):
    
        # remove unneccessary filename parts
        b.name = b.name.replace("_Lx","")
        
        # new variable to better compare bones with meshes
        bonename = b.name.replace("_helper","")
        
        # iterate through all the scenes objects
        for obj in bpy.context.scene.objects:
            
            # continue if object is a mesh
            if obj.type == 'MESH':
        
                # compare if mesh name matches bone name (bone: head_helper; mesh: head)
                if obj.name.casefold().startswith(bonename.casefold()):
                
                    # apply the ccordinates of the bone tail to the mesh
                    obj.location = b.head
                    
                    # clear existing constraints
                    obj.constraints.clear()
                    
                    # add a new armature constraint with bone target (used for animation)
                    con = obj.constraints.new('ARMATURE')
                    btg = con.targets.new()
                    btg.target = arma
                    btg.subtarget = b.name

# reset location of armature to 0 (needed for some characters)                
arma.location = (0,0,0)
Some example: https://youtu.be/d38kQcLxEBo
daemon1
MEGAVETERAN
MEGAVETERAN
Posts: 2647
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 2871 times

Re: Horizon Zero Dawn

Post by daemon1 »

AtomicJunkie wrote: Wed Sep 16, 2020 2:04 pm This blender script snaps all the floating parts to their corresponding helper bones.
Additionally it adds a arrmature constraint to these parts so that they move with the armature.
I dont know why this script is needed, my tool already puts all parts to their corresponding helper bones and connects helper bones to main armature.

Only if you dont use the tool as intended and only extract individual parts.
AtomicJunkie
ultra-n00b
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2020 1:26 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Horizon Zero Dawn

Post by AtomicJunkie »

daemon1 wrote: Wed Sep 16, 2020 4:04 pm I dont know why this script is needed, my tool already puts all parts to their corresponding helper bones and connects helper bones to main armature.

Only if you dont use the tool as intended and only extract individual parts.
I use your tool without the bat file generation you mentioned in one of your first posts.
Because that didn't work for me. Is this still implemented? Maybe I'm using it wrong.

Anyway after copying the skeleton in the smd file via script, I can import them into blender and even use the animations.
daemon1
MEGAVETERAN
MEGAVETERAN
Posts: 2647
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 2871 times

Re: Horizon Zero Dawn

Post by daemon1 »

AtomicJunkie wrote: Wed Sep 16, 2020 5:19 pm I use your tool without the bat file generation you mentioned in one of your first posts.
Because that didn't work for me. Is this still implemented? Maybe I'm using it wrong.
Yes, that bat file is supposed to do that. And yes, it must still work, because game formats were never changed since the beginning.
daemon1
MEGAVETERAN
MEGAVETERAN
Posts: 2647
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 2871 times

Re: Horizon Zero Dawn

Post by daemon1 »

I'm working on tool version for PC. Not much changes, testing it now, must not take long.
daemon1
MEGAVETERAN
MEGAVETERAN
Posts: 2647
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 2871 times

Re: Horizon Zero Dawn

Post by daemon1 »

Ok here's PC tool.

Usage is same as PS4. Someone said it doesnt work with oodle5, so i made it with oodle7, even though i think you can use other verisons renaming the .DLL as usual.

I checked a few models, textures and animations, they all look exactly same as on PS4. No quality difference.
So I dont know why files are 10GB bigger.

If anything will not work, let me know.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
AtomicJunkie
ultra-n00b
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2020 1:26 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Horizon Zero Dawn

Post by AtomicJunkie »

Damn, you're quick. :) Thanks again for sharing.

Tested the new PC tool on the Watcher. It works like a charm.

Some small issue: The Batch file genrator still creates the batch file with horizon instead of your new file name horizon_pc.

I also thought there are some high res textures in the PC version. But HZD was already optimized for 4K on the PS4 pro.
daemon1
MEGAVETERAN
MEGAVETERAN
Posts: 2647
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 2871 times

Re: Horizon Zero Dawn

Post by daemon1 »

AtomicJunkie wrote: Wed Sep 30, 2020 8:23 am Some small issue: The Batch file genrator still creates the batch file with horizon instead of your new file name horizon_pc.
ok. will fix it later.
AtomicJunkie wrote: Wed Sep 30, 2020 8:23 am I also thought there are some high res textures in the PC version.
Possible. Maybe main characters are already highest res on both platforms, but smaller, less important objects can be better on PC. Everyone is free to check it out.

Also I noticed vertex normals are not 10-bit packed, but full 16-bit or even 32-bit on PC. Not a big difference either.
zero
ultra-n00b
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 8:04 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Horizon Zero Dawn

Post by zero »

You are freaking awesome mate. Thank you very much.

You should check your pm box once in a while I know you must have like a million pms but still.

Thanks again

"Edit"

Am I the only one that is getting empty cores or blue or black dds?

It took me a while but I figure out the way to use it now I am getting empty files

Is there some step that I am missing or is something else that I need to do?

Can some one share a .bat file from pc extraction if they have it working please

Image

Image
funjord
ultra-n00b
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2020 6:41 pm

Re: Horizon Zero Dawn

Post by funjord »

It crashes every time I try and use it with the pc version
User avatar
Crazy31139
veteran
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 5:53 pm
Has thanked: 324 times
Been thanked: 63 times
Contact:

Re: Horizon Zero Dawn

Post by Crazy31139 »

Aloy Shield-Weaver.jpg
Big Thanx Daemon1 for the tool :bravo:
with your help we can extract models from this game.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
AtomicJunkie
ultra-n00b
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2020 1:26 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Horizon Zero Dawn

Post by AtomicJunkie »

Crazy31139 wrote: Wed Oct 14, 2020 7:32 pm Aloy Shield-Weaver.jpgBig Thanx Daemon1 for the tool :bravo:
with your help we can extract models from this game.
Hey, is this a stock photo?
If not how did you get the texture for the hair right?
User avatar
Crazy31139
veteran
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 5:53 pm
Has thanked: 324 times
Been thanked: 63 times
Contact:

Re: Horizon Zero Dawn

Post by Crazy31139 »

AtomicJunkie wrote: Wed Oct 14, 2020 9:26 pm
Crazy31139 wrote: Wed Oct 14, 2020 7:32 pm Aloy Shield-Weaver.jpgBig Thanx Daemon1 for the tool :bravo:
with your help we can extract models from this game.
Hey, is this a stock photo?
If not how did you get the texture for the hair right?
No, I rendered in Marmoset toolbag 3
I recolored hair texture myself
misterhister
ultra-n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2020 10:52 pm

Re: Horizon Zero Dawn

Post by misterhister »

i read all the things and i tried pasting the horizon_pc.exe file in the games folder right where oo2core_3_win64.dll is . I executed the file and nothing happened . i tried doing the same while the game is open too . would you please help me ? i am a noob in these stuff .
mono24
double-veteran
double-veteran
Posts: 840
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 12:27 am
Has thanked: 435 times
Been thanked: 235 times

Re: Horizon Zero Dawn

Post by mono24 »

misterhister wrote: Thu Nov 05, 2020 11:34 pm i read all the things and i tried pasting the horizon_pc.exe file in the games folder right where oo2core_3_win64.dll is . I executed the file and nothing happened . i tried doing the same while the game is open too . would you please help me ? i am a noob in these stuff .
That means you did step 2 from description on first page about extraction, now continue doing rest of steps and you'll get there, just read carefully and follow through.
Post Reply