Important information: this site is currently scheduled to go offline indefinitely by end of the year.

How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam PC?

Post questions about game models here, or help out others!
joqqy
advanced
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:40 pm
Has thanked: 108 times
Been thanked: 47 times

Re: How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam P

Post by joqqy »

lolwatt wrote:
joqqy wrote:
amwpagon wrote:I want to learn how to write code to rip chr , cgf cgfm file.

Everyone have tutorial ?
I don't have a tutorial, but I have written a script for my specific needs, to import chr, cgf, cgfm etc..., specifically for Ryse, but I plan to expand it to all games and assets.
You can test it out, and try looking at the code if you want to.
Use it on your own risk, full with bugs most certainly.

I have only tested the script in 3DS Max 2017
See a movie here on how to use it https://youtu.be/GZ9KhEezDMo
Shit, I deleted RYSE the other day! :(
But this is exciting, I must re-download to test this one.
Does it work with static as well or just skeleton for now?
Thank you a lot.
Sure, np
It works with static as well.
Use the "LOAD CryFile" button to load static assets.
lolwatt
veteran
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 1:23 am
Has thanked: 72 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam P

Post by lolwatt »

Hey! I finally managed to test it!
Great results so far, but I haven't been able to get the skeletal meshes or the textures just yet. I'm probably doing something wrong.

I got this from the listener when trying to load any CDF:

Code: Select all

(CDF_Attribs nTagString:"Model" idx:0 attribName:#("File") attribVal:#("objects/characters/animals/snake/snake.chr"))
(CDF_Attribs nTagString:"Model" idx:0 attribName:#("Material") attribVal:#("Objects/characters/animals/snake/snake_Mat.mtl"))
(CDF_Attribs nTagString:"ShapeDeformation" idx:0 attribName:#() attribVal:#())
(CDF_Attribs nTagString:"ShapeDeformation" idx:0 attribName:#() attribVal:#())
(CDF_Attribs nTagString:"ShapeDeformation" idx:0 attribName:#() attribVal:#())
(CDF_Attribs nTagString:"ShapeDeformation" idx:0 attribName:#() attribVal:#())
(CDF_Attribs nTagString:"ShapeDeformation" idx:0 attribName:#() attribVal:#())
(CDF_Attribs nTagString:"ShapeDeformation" idx:0 attribName:#() attribVal:#())
(CDF_Attribs nTagString:"ShapeDeformation" idx:0 attribName:#() attribVal:#())
(CDF_Attribs nTagString:"ShapeDeformation" idx:0 attribName:#() attribVal:#())
And... how do I get the textures? :P
It seems it is auto, but I'm probably missing something.

Code: Select all

Applying Textures, Please Wait...g_cryFile: D:\Ryse - Son of Rome\GameRyse\out\Objects-part0.pak\Objects\gladiator\colosseum\broken_bridge\mp_bridge_crane.cgf
matDB: D:\Ryse - Son of Rome\mat.txt
And nothing happens.

If you can help me out, that would be great, but thank you a lot already! :)
joqqy
advanced
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:40 pm
Has thanked: 108 times
Been thanked: 47 times

Re: How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam P

Post by joqqy »

lolwatt wrote:Hey! I finally managed to test it!
Great results so far, but I haven't been able to get the skeletal meshes or the textures just yet. I'm probably doing something wrong.

I got this from the listener when trying to load any CDF:

Code: Select all

(CDF_Attribs nTagString:"Model" idx:0 attribName:#("File") attribVal:#("objects/characters/animals/snake/snake.chr"))
(CDF_Attribs nTagString:"Model" idx:0 attribName:#("Material") attribVal:#("Objects/characters/animals/snake/snake_Mat.mtl"))
(CDF_Attribs nTagString:"ShapeDeformation" idx:0 attribName:#() attribVal:#())
(CDF_Attribs nTagString:"ShapeDeformation" idx:0 attribName:#() attribVal:#())
(CDF_Attribs nTagString:"ShapeDeformation" idx:0 attribName:#() attribVal:#())
(CDF_Attribs nTagString:"ShapeDeformation" idx:0 attribName:#() attribVal:#())
(CDF_Attribs nTagString:"ShapeDeformation" idx:0 attribName:#() attribVal:#())
(CDF_Attribs nTagString:"ShapeDeformation" idx:0 attribName:#() attribVal:#())
(CDF_Attribs nTagString:"ShapeDeformation" idx:0 attribName:#() attribVal:#())
(CDF_Attribs nTagString:"ShapeDeformation" idx:0 attribName:#() attribVal:#())
And... how do I get the textures? :P
It seems it is auto, but I'm probably missing something.

Code: Select all

Applying Textures, Please Wait...g_cryFile: D:\Ryse - Son of Rome\GameRyse\out\Objects-part0.pak\Objects\gladiator\colosseum\broken_bridge\mp_bridge_crane.cgf
matDB: D:\Ryse - Son of Rome\mat.txt
And nothing happens.

If you can help me out, that would be great, but thank you a lot already! :)
Have you downloaded the lastest attached version?
If not, please first do that and test it...

The version you have, most likely looks for the .mtl in a database I used for testing.
The updated version uses the asset resource lists that ships with the game.

In order to make them available, ***YOU HAVE TO ALSO UNPACK*** the GameRyse\Levels .pak archives
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by joqqy on Fri Jul 01, 2016 9:12 am, edited 4 times in total.
lolwatt
veteran
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 1:23 am
Has thanked: 72 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam P

Post by lolwatt »

Thanks!!
I have unpacked everything now.
Will it search under \GameRyse\Levels\Colosseum (for example) or I have to do anything else?

Also, the script now says: Cannot find scriptpath, cannot continue, aborting!
No matter what I try, :P
SgtDirtDiver
ultra-n00b
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2016 5:48 am

Re: How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam P

Post by SgtDirtDiver »

I cannot seem to figure out where Marius' sword (and the rest of the roman swords) are located in the models and keep getting access denied from the extractor. If anyone happens across the sword models could they possibly post them here? If not I understand. Thank you.
joqqy
advanced
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:40 pm
Has thanked: 108 times
Been thanked: 47 times

Re: How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam P

Post by joqqy »

lolwatt wrote:Thanks!!
I have unpacked everything now.
Will it search under \GameRyse\Levels\Colosseum (for example) or I have to do anything else?

Also, the script now says: Cannot find scriptpath, cannot continue, aborting!
No matter what I try, :P
Download the latest fix, it contains some important bug fixes, such as .mtl name reference bug fix.
The resource lists method will search every level asset available automatically. It will look inside the levels folder for the resource list for the required resource. This is not the most optimised way, as there are assets in the lists we are not interested in, and should skip unconditionally, but for now, it is sufficient.

Delete the "cryimport_v3.ini" in "\Users\<yourusername>\AppData\Local\Temp\" and then start the script again
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by joqqy on Fri Jul 01, 2016 9:12 am, edited 3 times in total.
lolwatt
veteran
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 1:23 am
Has thanked: 72 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam P

Post by lolwatt »

Hi joqqy,
Thank you very much for the constant updates!

However, after the first version, I still cannot make it work here.
This version asks for the path, I apply them correctly and it says it can't find the includes - which is very odd.
I tried copy/pasting them on the same ui_.ms folder, but then again I get the "Cannot find scriptpath, cannot continue, aborting!".
SgtDirtDiver wrote:I cannot seem to figure out where Marius' sword (and the rest of the roman swords) are located in the models and keep getting access denied from the extractor. If anyone happens across the sword models could they possibly post them here? If not I understand. Thank you.
If I get the importer to work again, I'll surely do this for you. :)
joqqy
advanced
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:40 pm
Has thanked: 108 times
Been thanked: 47 times

Re: How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam P

Post by joqqy »

lolwatt wrote:Hi joqqy,
Thank you very much for the constant updates!

However, after the first version, I still cannot make it work here.
This version asks for the path, I apply them correctly and it says it can't find the includes - which is very odd.
Did you delete your old "cryimport_v3.ini" in "\Users\<yourusername>\AppData\Local\Temp\" ?

The includes must be kept in the \include folder
That is, they will not be found if placed inside the same dir as ui_.ms

The folder structure inside the zip file must be kept as is.

When the setup asks you for the script path, you must choose the folder where ui_.ms is located, which also must have the "include" folder.

3ds Max version should be 2017
lolwatt
veteran
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 1:23 am
Has thanked: 72 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam P

Post by lolwatt »

joqqy wrote:
lolwatt wrote:Hi joqqy,
Thank you very much for the constant updates!

However, after the first version, I still cannot make it work here.
This version asks for the path, I apply them correctly and it says it can't find the includes - which is very odd.
Did you delete your old "cryimport_v3.ini" in "\Users\<yourusername>\AppData\Local\Temp\" ?

The includes must be kept in the \include folder
That is, they will not be found if placed inside the same dir as ui_.ms

The folder structure inside the zip file must be kept as is.

When the setup asks you for the script path, you must choose the folder where ui_.ms is located, which also must have the "include" folder.

3ds Max version should be 2017
Except for the 3ds Max 2017 - mine is 2016 - everything is set as the above.
Usually, this is not a problem. Should I update and try?

I deleted the .ini - Unzipped, left as it is - Ran the script, set the folders.
Right after I set it, it says "Cannot find scriptpath....."

If I check the .ini, everything is correctly set:

[paths]
g_dirpath=C:\Ryse - Son of Rome\GameRyse
scriptRoot=C:\mypathgoeshere\Desktop\CryRyseImport
g_includePath=C:\mypathgoeshere\Desktop\CryRyseImport\include

One other thing:
If I put the ui_.ms from the first version on the last version, the script runs. (probably all buggy, haven't tried)

edit: Thanks for helping out! :)
joqqy
advanced
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:40 pm
Has thanked: 108 times
Been thanked: 47 times

Re: How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam P

Post by joqqy »

lolwatt wrote:
joqqy wrote:
lolwatt wrote:Hi joqqy,


Except for the 3ds Max 2017 - mine is 2016 - everything is set as the above.
Usually, this is not a problem. Should I update and try?
Yes please, update to 3ds Max 2017.

I tested the scripts on a 2015 installation, and they failed, as you describe.
So until (and if) I look at what has changed since max 2016 or earlier - Since I wrote the scripts on and for Max 2017 - my suggestion is you update to 2017 and try again.

So, download the attached scripts, which have some modifications - delete the ini file again, and run the scripts on 3ds Max 2017.

I am glad to help.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by joqqy on Fri Jul 01, 2016 9:11 am, edited 15 times in total.
lolwatt
veteran
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 1:23 am
Has thanked: 72 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam P

Post by lolwatt »

Updating to 2017 solved the issue! :)

If you have the time, please, explain a bit more in depth how to get the textures?
I suppose I have everything extracted, but I still don't get the textures assigned or converted (I think).

Great news is everything else is working. Even the skinned meshes are working great. :D

Thanks a lot - one more time! :P
joqqy
advanced
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:40 pm
Has thanked: 108 times
Been thanked: 47 times

Re: How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam P

Post by joqqy »

lolwatt wrote:Updating to 2017 solved the issue! :)

If you have the time, please, explain a bit more in depth how to get the textures?
I suppose I have everything extracted, but I still don't get the textures assigned or converted (I think).

Great news is everything else is working. Even the skinned meshes are working great. :D

Thanks a lot - one more time! :P
Good :)

About the textures:

I assume you have extracted ALL level .Pak archives and left the folder structure intact/unchanged.

I also assume you have ***unsplit*** the .dds files?
If not, you must unsplit them first using the dds unsplitter, which you can find through a simple search engine search ("ddsunsplit"), or even in here, (sorry I do not have a direct link).
SgtDirtDiver
ultra-n00b
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2016 5:48 am

Re: How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam P

Post by SgtDirtDiver »

lolwatt wrote:Hi joqqy,
Thank you very much for the constant updates!

However, after the first version, I still cannot make it work here.
This version asks for the path, I apply them correctly and it says it can't find the includes - which is very odd.
I tried copy/pasting them on the same ui_.ms folder, but then again I get the "Cannot find scriptpath, cannot continue, aborting!".
SgtDirtDiver wrote:I cannot seem to figure out where Marius' sword (and the rest of the roman swords) are located in the models and keep getting access denied from the extractor. If anyone happens across the sword models could they possibly post them here? If not I understand. Thank you.
If I get the importer to work again, I'll surely do this for you. :)
That would be awesome! Thank you so much!
lolwatt
veteran
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 1:23 am
Has thanked: 72 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam P

Post by lolwatt »

joqqy wrote: Good :)

About the textures:

I assume you have extracted ALL level .Pak archives and left the folder structure intact/unchanged.

I also assume you have ***unsplit*** the .dds files?
If not, you must unsplit them first using the dds unsplitter, which you can find through a simple search engine search ("ddsunsplit"), or even in here, (sorry I do not have a direct link).
Everything works now. Awesome tool! Really great work there.
Thank you a million! :D
joqqy
advanced
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:40 pm
Has thanked: 108 times
Been thanked: 47 times

Re: How To Ripped Model [Ryse : Son of Rome] Game on Steam P

Post by joqqy »

lolwatt wrote:
Everything works now. Awesome tool! Really great work there.
Thank you a million! :D
Great

As a note, these tools are highly *WIP* and I do add features when time allows me.
Therefore, you will most certainly encounter bugs that may have been fixed in a newer version, that isn't public.
Next on the *TODO* queue is the Animations as well as refining the material assignment as to more closely reflect the CryEngine Shader structure , and maybe even add a directX shader option.

Edit: Speaking of updates, I have just attached a very important update with lots of fixes!

/joq
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by joqqy on Fri Jul 01, 2016 9:11 am, edited 7 times in total.
Post Reply